SurClaro Flight Simulator Resources Forum Index SurClaro Flight Simulator Resources
Flight Simulator & Aviation forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    FavoritesFavorites   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

SurClaro.com Home Page | Downloads | New files | Top files | ScreenShots | Reviews | News | Links | Forum Archive | Upload files | Get RSS Get RSS

Search for answers to your questions:
*** You can use AND to define words which must be in the results ***
Click here for more search options...
Developers and Designers Beware

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SurClaro Flight Simulator Resources Forum Index -> Add-ons Developers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
woodyOffline
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Total posts: 1
Gender: Unknown

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 5:38 am    Post subject: Developers and Designers Beware Reply with quote

Developers and Designers Beware

This is to let every designer and developer in the flight simulator community know that we have a flight sim site " http://www.flyawaysimulation.com " who has on several instances gone to other well known flight sim sites and downloaded our "software" whether it be aircraft, panels, scenery, etc. and placed these "software" on his site.

Now for the sake of this post I will state that I found at "fly away simulation" a very crude and XXX rated topic between two individuals attached to a screenshot of a "N10RF" helicopter designed by a very reputable designer. It was at this time that I found several of my aircraft at his site which were placed there against my choice and better judgement.

I e-mailed the Executive Director of fly away simulation on Sun June 13, 2004 and informed him of the filth on his site. On Wed. Jun 16, 2004 I resubmitted another e-mail to them stating that this was unacceptable behavior and that they needed to do something about it immediately. On Thursday June 17, I received a e-mail from the Executive Director stating that this was the first he had heard from me and resend the info. I did and he removed the XXX rated language from the screenshot, but refused to remove my aircraft until I gave him the copyright and references to the aircraft.
Now as I see it, he did download my aircraft as everyone else would do. But he went one step futher and placed these aircraft at his site which is a members paid only site.
I simply told him to read the readme which is attached to all my projects and he would see the copyright and my wishes. My wishes were that he was to get my express e-mailed permission before uploading to his site, and that the site had to be available to everyone. Neither of these were followed. There are only a handfull of flightsim sites that are allowed to host my projects and his is not one of them and never will be.

After several e-mails he finally agreed to have one of his board members remove my files appropriately. Three days later the files were still there and I was told that the files would be removed in due course.

I informed him that he had 24 hours to remove all my files from his site. I am now posting this letter to let other designers know what this site does and to be aware of the misconduct and mistreatment that I have had to deal with from them.

More to come…
Lynn,
Back to top
View user's profile 
ExxmanOffline
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Total posts: 2894
Location: Right here...see me?
Age: 26
Gender: Male

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:56 am    Post subject: Thankx! Reply with quote

A thank you for the information Woody. I've removed the site from my fave's list. It's one thing to use another's work for personal enjoyment, but to redistribute and resell it is another issue. On top of that, to disrespect works of artists is just plain cowardly.

Many thanks for the tips...and hope it is resolved soon.

Exx
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail 
LeFeaouxOffline
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Joined: 28 Jun 2007
Total posts: 6
Location: El Paso, Texas (otherwise known as the armpit of Texas)!!!
Age: 45
Gender: Male

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I too will remove the site from my fav's list and will not visit the site again. I know how it goes. I was a moderator on a Dallas Cowboys Forum (listed as my website in my profile) and am still a member of the GFX Team there ... I am known as Master Yoda on that forum. We have had similar issues there so I know how frustrating it can be. I hope you can get this guy to cooperate and remove your aircraft from his site. Good luck!

LeFeaoux
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SurClaro Flight Simulator Resources Forum Index -> Add-ons Developers All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum




Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the SurClaro Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions | Advertise on this site

Powered by phpBB © 2005 phpBB Group

AVIATION TOP 100 - www.avitop.com Avitop.com