Just for a giggle... My system specs

Got the best performer PC around? post your config here.

Moderators: rd, mel wilson, gbesoain, Cat1, ricktobin, groundsquirrel, Insured Disaster

Post Reply
User avatar
Cat1
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 2100
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:50 am
Location: KFTW (Meacham Intl, Ft. Worth)

Just for a giggle... My system specs

Post by Cat1 » Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:00 am

Dell Inspiron
Build date by Dell 2002

MB: D845PT (Intel)
CPU: Pentium 4, Socket 478 2.0 GHz Northwood (running at 1.99 GHz) received a DOA 3.0 GHz Prescott from Newegg, RMA issued.
RAM: Was: 1Gb Samsung 184-Pin in 2 X 512Mb sticks, Now: 2Gb pqi 2 X 1Gb 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 266 (PC 2100)
Power supply: Stock Dell 250W.
Video card: nVidia 7600GS AGP 512Mb.

So yeah... I think it's time for a new build...
Image
If you want to learn how to fly IFR and land with ILS or have any questions about IFR/ILS. Click this link and the information is there: http://www.faa.gov/library/manuals/avia ... _handbook/

User avatar
tropicalfish
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by tropicalfish » Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:06 am

A 250W PSU eh :?

At least the rest of your system is better than mine, mine can't even bother to start FS.
Image
Computer Specs
Antec 300 - Case
Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W - PSU
GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-UD4H AMD 790GX - Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Quad-Core - CPU
G.SKILL 4GB 240-Pin DDR2-800 - RAM
SAPPHIRE ATI Radeon HD 4870 512MB - Graphics Card
Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB - Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 22X DVD±R DVD Burner - Optical Drive
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit - Operating System

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Fri Sep 19, 2008 4:32 am

I'm really surprised you haven't cooked that 250w PSU. Much less, that it powers everything.

Do you have any peripherals, such as DVD R/RW???

Otherwise, Yeah, that 1.99ghz is pretty slow by 2005 standards. :lol:

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
Cat1
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 2100
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:50 am
Location: KFTW (Meacham Intl, Ft. Worth)

Post by Cat1 » Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:44 pm

Have both CD and DVD hooked up but they don't pull constant power.
Image
If you want to learn how to fly IFR and land with ILS or have any questions about IFR/ILS. Click this link and the information is there: http://www.faa.gov/library/manuals/avia ... _handbook/

FlightSimmer08
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 7:03 pm

Post by FlightSimmer08 » Tue Sep 23, 2008 12:01 am

Oh yeah?! I got a emachines t1842 pushing a 1.8G processor and a stupid integrated video card that doesn't do anything but HOLD THE GRAPHICS BACK, and I added 512 Megs of RAM, that made my compy a LOT faster but no improve in graphics. Time to get some REAL hardware in there.

User avatar
tropicalfish
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by tropicalfish » Tue Sep 23, 2008 12:13 am

Oh yea? 1.2ghz.
Image
Computer Specs
Antec 300 - Case
Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W - PSU
GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-UD4H AMD 790GX - Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Quad-Core - CPU
G.SKILL 4GB 240-Pin DDR2-800 - RAM
SAPPHIRE ATI Radeon HD 4870 512MB - Graphics Card
Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB - Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 22X DVD±R DVD Burner - Optical Drive
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit - Operating System

User avatar
harkonnen
Top Contributors
Top Contributors
Posts: 2830
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 11:59 pm
Location: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

Post by harkonnen » Tue Sep 23, 2008 1:57 am

Uhh, if this is where we post our really embarrassing system specs....well, here's mine if you want a real giggle. (Sometimes I giggle, sometimes I just cry. :lol: )

766 MHZ PIII
512 megs of PC100 RAM
Two twenty gig hard drives ...5 gigs left on each 8O :roll:
The saving grace? A Radeon 9250 PRO that saves my FS9 from being a COMPLETE slideshow! I can get 15 to 20 FPS with a basic aircraft in just blue sky.
Anything else and I'm playing with between 4 and maybe 9 FPS.

The only good thing about this system is that it's an old IBM desktop-style clunker running Windows 2000 - you cannot kill or bugger up this machine....any goofiness is gone with a restart.

The only other good thing about this thing is that I will be in simmer's heaven whenever I do get a few bucks for a real PC. (You know...do without something forever and it's extra sweet when you finally get it. :wink:)
Image

heeshung
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1020
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:24 pm

Post by heeshung » Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:14 am

My first PC- now used by my grandfather to play chinese chess.

266MHz AMD K6
64MB RAM upgraded to 96MB
S3 ViRGE GPU
ex-Windows 95 now Windows 98

Another PC that's laying around (inoperable at the moment, used to use; HD has been taken out to use in my dedicated server):
466MHz Intel Celeron OC'ed to 525MHz
31MB RAM upgraded to 64MB
Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9450 @ 2.66GHz (4 CPUs)
4096MB Corsair Dominator DDR2 @1066MHz (5-5-5-15) 2.1V
Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD753LJ 750GB 32MB Cache
2x NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTS 512MB G92 Core in SLI
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW-SR PSU [80A]
Acer X223W 22" 16:10 Widescreen TFT LCD
Azalia HD Audio Connected to 5.1 Channel Harmon/Kardon Surround System and Plantronics GameCom 377 Headset
Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard
Razer Lachesis 4000dpi 3G Laser [Philips Twin-Eye] Wraith Red Edition Gaming Mouse
EVGA nForce 780i SLI FTW Special Edition Mainboard 132-YW-E178-A1
Antec Twelve-Hundred Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7000) (7000.winmain_win7beta.081212-1400)

User avatar
groundsquirrel
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 4929
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:31 am
Location: Navarre,Florida-USA (KVPS,KHRT,KPNS)
Contact:

the

Post by groundsquirrel » Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:28 am

The computer running my alignment center software....


x86 33mhz
4meg of RAM
250meg hard drive
windows 3.11, DOS 6.0

and still plays solitaire like the day it was made :D
Gravity ... it's an Earth thing.

heeshung
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1020
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:24 pm

Post by heeshung » Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:28 am

Then what about my TI-84?

CPU: Zilog 6MHz OC'ed to 15MHz
128KB RAM
1.5MB Storage [Flash ROM]
Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9450 @ 2.66GHz (4 CPUs)
4096MB Corsair Dominator DDR2 @1066MHz (5-5-5-15) 2.1V
Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD753LJ 750GB 32MB Cache
2x NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTS 512MB G92 Core in SLI
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW-SR PSU [80A]
Acer X223W 22" 16:10 Widescreen TFT LCD
Azalia HD Audio Connected to 5.1 Channel Harmon/Kardon Surround System and Plantronics GameCom 377 Headset
Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard
Razer Lachesis 4000dpi 3G Laser [Philips Twin-Eye] Wraith Red Edition Gaming Mouse
EVGA nForce 780i SLI FTW Special Edition Mainboard 132-YW-E178-A1
Antec Twelve-Hundred Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7000) (7000.winmain_win7beta.081212-1400)

User avatar
tropicalfish
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by tropicalfish » Tue Sep 23, 2008 4:04 am

You OC'd your graphing calculator??

Talk about wow.
Image
Computer Specs
Antec 300 - Case
Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W - PSU
GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-UD4H AMD 790GX - Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Quad-Core - CPU
G.SKILL 4GB 240-Pin DDR2-800 - RAM
SAPPHIRE ATI Radeon HD 4870 512MB - Graphics Card
Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB - Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 22X DVD±R DVD Burner - Optical Drive
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit - Operating System

User avatar
njbb1995
Junior SurClaro Member
Junior SurClaro Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 9:21 pm
Location: NZWB-NZOM= Blenheim new zealand Aoteroa

Post by njbb1995 » Tue Sep 23, 2008 5:26 am

ok I have a 2.8 GHz intel pentium 4
512mb ram
40gb upgraded to 160 gb Hdd
Nvidia Geforce FX5100 video card

DVD R+RW drive

Any tips on how to boost performance?

User avatar
harkonnen
Top Contributors
Top Contributors
Posts: 2830
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 11:59 pm
Location: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

Post by harkonnen » Tue Sep 23, 2008 5:39 am

From what I've read here and there you could use double the RAM...and you should also be able to get a newer graphics card without breaking the bank.

I also believe that once you are at your best hardware scenario it's all about tweaking the simulator itself...which is a whole other topic.

Diligent searching throughout this and other flightsim forums may help you to get 'tweaky', there is a fair bit of info around on messing with everything FS, from the graphics settings to the FS9 .cfg file itself.

Also, there are third-party add-ons...smaller replacement textures, etc...that may give you a few more frames per second.
I think it's all about educating yourself...people do pretty amazing things with fairly 'run of the mill' systems. :) :twisted:
Image

FlightSimmer08
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 7:03 pm

Post by FlightSimmer08 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 1:21 am

Dang, so I DON'T have the worst one out there.. But I DO need to get a graphics card. I hate to admit it, I thought I knew some stuff about computers, but I never knew that a graphics card contained IT'S OWN RAM AND GPU!! It's like its own little computer just dedicated to video output. I just learned this the other day, when I first posted on this thread. Now I've got some incline for purchasing one. The one I'm looking at costs $65, and that won't even hurt me.

heeshung
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1020
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:24 pm

Post by heeshung » Wed Sep 24, 2008 1:27 am

I need to benchmark FS2004 on the new rig...
Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9450 @ 2.66GHz (4 CPUs)
4096MB Corsair Dominator DDR2 @1066MHz (5-5-5-15) 2.1V
Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD753LJ 750GB 32MB Cache
2x NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTS 512MB G92 Core in SLI
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW-SR PSU [80A]
Acer X223W 22" 16:10 Widescreen TFT LCD
Azalia HD Audio Connected to 5.1 Channel Harmon/Kardon Surround System and Plantronics GameCom 377 Headset
Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard
Razer Lachesis 4000dpi 3G Laser [Philips Twin-Eye] Wraith Red Edition Gaming Mouse
EVGA nForce 780i SLI FTW Special Edition Mainboard 132-YW-E178-A1
Antec Twelve-Hundred Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7000) (7000.winmain_win7beta.081212-1400)

User avatar
tropicalfish
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by tropicalfish » Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:31 am

Like 100+ FPS I think :lol:
Image
Computer Specs
Antec 300 - Case
Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W - PSU
GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-UD4H AMD 790GX - Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Quad-Core - CPU
G.SKILL 4GB 240-Pin DDR2-800 - RAM
SAPPHIRE ATI Radeon HD 4870 512MB - Graphics Card
Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB - Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 22X DVD±R DVD Burner - Optical Drive
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit - Operating System

User avatar
Cat1
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 2100
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:50 am
Location: KFTW (Meacham Intl, Ft. Worth)

Post by Cat1 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:42 am

Bad news...
The 3.0GHz Prescott CPU I bought and RMA'ed from Newegg is buster.
I called Intel, the board will not support in no way no how.
It seems the board I have (D845PT) is the bargain basement version of the D845BG board. The D845PT did not have good sales numbers and the boards chipsets coding are just different enough between the PT and the BG to make the BIOS updates incompatible.
I had to kill the RMA.

Good news...
The pqi memory I bought at the same time as the CPU is working. So at least I have the 2Gb of memory, some of the landclass issues I was having have reduced, not totally gone, but it's better than it was.

Better news...
This past Saturday I was able to review the design package for the floor plan of the house my wife and I are having built.
This is our first house together, depending on how you look at it. Well this is the first house that will be ours instead of a rental house or an apartment.
I had asked the builders agent to give me the CAD file for the plans so I can make the changes... It was a resounding NO.
But I may have a weekend job lead :lol:
I made some red-lines to the copy with instructions and including dimensions based off my sketches of similar floor plans, the builders agent said she had never seen that before. I actually thought it was kind of funny as she was explaining it, until she folded the print over and started making copies of the red-lines. 8O
We'll see what happens...
Image
If you want to learn how to fly IFR and land with ILS or have any questions about IFR/ILS. Click this link and the information is there: http://www.faa.gov/library/manuals/avia ... _handbook/

heeshung
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1020
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:24 pm

Post by heeshung » Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:01 am

Personally, I think buying an overpriced P4 isn't worth it right now.

Save up, and even cheap boards can support Core 2's.
Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9450 @ 2.66GHz (4 CPUs)
4096MB Corsair Dominator DDR2 @1066MHz (5-5-5-15) 2.1V
Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD753LJ 750GB 32MB Cache
2x NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTS 512MB G92 Core in SLI
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW-SR PSU [80A]
Acer X223W 22" 16:10 Widescreen TFT LCD
Azalia HD Audio Connected to 5.1 Channel Harmon/Kardon Surround System and Plantronics GameCom 377 Headset
Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard
Razer Lachesis 4000dpi 3G Laser [Philips Twin-Eye] Wraith Red Edition Gaming Mouse
EVGA nForce 780i SLI FTW Special Edition Mainboard 132-YW-E178-A1
Antec Twelve-Hundred Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7000) (7000.winmain_win7beta.081212-1400)

User avatar
Cat1
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 2100
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:50 am
Location: KFTW (Meacham Intl, Ft. Worth)

Post by Cat1 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:04 am

I agree, it will probably be at least another 6 to 8 months before I do a paper build again.
Prices will change in that time and the tech will either be new or become cheaper. :wink:
Image
If you want to learn how to fly IFR and land with ILS or have any questions about IFR/ILS. Click this link and the information is there: http://www.faa.gov/library/manuals/avia ... _handbook/

heeshung
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1020
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:24 pm

Post by heeshung » Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:12 am

In 6-8 months, Core i7 will be more prevalent, DDR3 will have entered the mainstream, and because of i7, LGA1366.

Just my prediction.
Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9450 @ 2.66GHz (4 CPUs)
4096MB Corsair Dominator DDR2 @1066MHz (5-5-5-15) 2.1V
Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD753LJ 750GB 32MB Cache
2x NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTS 512MB G92 Core in SLI
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW-SR PSU [80A]
Acer X223W 22" 16:10 Widescreen TFT LCD
Azalia HD Audio Connected to 5.1 Channel Harmon/Kardon Surround System and Plantronics GameCom 377 Headset
Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard
Razer Lachesis 4000dpi 3G Laser [Philips Twin-Eye] Wraith Red Edition Gaming Mouse
EVGA nForce 780i SLI FTW Special Edition Mainboard 132-YW-E178-A1
Antec Twelve-Hundred Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7000) (7000.winmain_win7beta.081212-1400)

viche12345
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1420
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 4:44 am
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Contact:

Post by viche12345 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:20 am

heeshung wrote:In 6-8 months, Core i7 will be more prevalent, DDR3 will have entered the mainstream, and because of i7, LGA1366.

Just my prediction.
I agree. Expect price drops in that timeframe.
There is no place like 127.0.0.1

User avatar
Cat1
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 2100
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:50 am
Location: KFTW (Meacham Intl, Ft. Worth)

Post by Cat1 » Sat Sep 27, 2008 1:42 am

heeshung wrote:Personally, I think buying an overpriced P4 isn't worth it right now.

Save up, and even cheap boards can support Core 2's.
Don't get me wrong... The chip was a $80.00 item OEM so not exactly massively expensive. The real downer was when Intel told me that no matter what I could do with it, the D845PT will not support it.
I was trying to prolong the life of this system that I am typing on, and the RAM has helped. But it will end up being the wife's system when I build a new one.

Even after the effort to cancel the ship back of a chip that won't work with this system and contacting Newegg explaining it. I just checked my e-mail and guess what... They are sending a replacement chip, it shipped today. What the heck, I'll give it another shot... Gotta wait 3 days to get it though. :roll:

If I really get fed up with it though, I do have my "road system" to fall back on, which is a:

2006 Alienware Auroraâ„¢ m9700 (They don't make these anymore)

Processor: AMD Turionâ„¢ 64 Mobile ML44 2.4GHz 800MHz FSB 1MB L2 Cache
Operating System: Windows® XP Professional
Chassis: 17" WideUXGA 1920 x 1200 LCD with Clearview Technology - Saucer Silver
Motherboard: Alienware® NVIDIA® Mobile SLi Chipset
Memory: 2GB Dual Channel DDR SO-DIMM at 400MHz - 2 x 1024MB
System Drive: Single Drive Configuration - 100GB Serial ATA 1.5Gb/s 7,200 RPM w/ NCQ & 8MB Cache
Optical Drive: 8X Dual Layer DVD+/-RW & 24X CD-RW Burner w/Software
Video/Graphics Card: Dual 256MB NVidia® GeForce™ Go 7900 GS - SLI Enabled
Sound Card: High-Definition Audio with surround sound
Wireless Network Card: Internal 802.11b/g WiFi Card
Communications: Integrated 10/1000Mb Gigabit Ethernet & 56K V.92 Modem
Bluetooth: Integrated Bluetooth® Device
Primary Battery: Alienware® m9700 12-cell Lithium-Ion Smart Battery Pack

:wink:
Image
If you want to learn how to fly IFR and land with ILS or have any questions about IFR/ILS. Click this link and the information is there: http://www.faa.gov/library/manuals/avia ... _handbook/

User avatar
tropicalfish
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by tropicalfish » Sat Sep 27, 2008 3:55 am

Cat1: It would be better worth to get a new system than to upgrade the processor on your current computer, IMO.
Image
Computer Specs
Antec 300 - Case
Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W - PSU
GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-UD4H AMD 790GX - Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Quad-Core - CPU
G.SKILL 4GB 240-Pin DDR2-800 - RAM
SAPPHIRE ATI Radeon HD 4870 512MB - Graphics Card
Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB - Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 22X DVD±R DVD Burner - Optical Drive
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit - Operating System

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Sat Sep 27, 2008 4:05 am

Have to agree with T-fish on that.

My main rig was a socket 939, AMD Athlon XP 2700 @ 2.19ghz, with an ASUS A7N8X Deluxe MB. To upgrade it after this catastrophic failure, is senseless, and money wise, not a bright idea. It's been good to me, but with the age of it, speed, I think for me, it is time to do a serious power upgrade.

When all is said and done, I'll have some good parts for sale, real cheap.

RD

heeshung
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1020
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:24 pm

Post by heeshung » Sat Sep 27, 2008 4:15 am

I second both tropical and RD, as I already said in my last post in this thread way up there.
Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9450 @ 2.66GHz (4 CPUs)
4096MB Corsair Dominator DDR2 @1066MHz (5-5-5-15) 2.1V
Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD753LJ 750GB 32MB Cache
2x NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTS 512MB G92 Core in SLI
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW-SR PSU [80A]
Acer X223W 22" 16:10 Widescreen TFT LCD
Azalia HD Audio Connected to 5.1 Channel Harmon/Kardon Surround System and Plantronics GameCom 377 Headset
Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard
Razer Lachesis 4000dpi 3G Laser [Philips Twin-Eye] Wraith Red Edition Gaming Mouse
EVGA nForce 780i SLI FTW Special Edition Mainboard 132-YW-E178-A1
Antec Twelve-Hundred Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7000) (7000.winmain_win7beta.081212-1400)

User avatar
Cat1
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 2100
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:50 am
Location: KFTW (Meacham Intl, Ft. Worth)

Post by Cat1 » Sun Sep 28, 2008 8:10 pm

Ha-za! I totally understand and that is why I was just trying to get what I could for it to prolong the life and possibly make it a bit more useful.

I agree that there is no scene of roses in trying to upgrade this thing, but if I could add some usefulness for under $200.00 then why not try it.
But alas, some things won't work, and that does require the build of a new system. Time is on my side, cost will come down and new tech will be introduced. :wink:
Image
If you want to learn how to fly IFR and land with ILS or have any questions about IFR/ILS. Click this link and the information is there: http://www.faa.gov/library/manuals/avia ... _handbook/

heeshung
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1020
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:24 pm

Post by heeshung » Sun Sep 28, 2008 9:48 pm

New technology IS being constantly introduced.
Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9450 @ 2.66GHz (4 CPUs)
4096MB Corsair Dominator DDR2 @1066MHz (5-5-5-15) 2.1V
Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD753LJ 750GB 32MB Cache
2x NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTS 512MB G92 Core in SLI
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW-SR PSU [80A]
Acer X223W 22" 16:10 Widescreen TFT LCD
Azalia HD Audio Connected to 5.1 Channel Harmon/Kardon Surround System and Plantronics GameCom 377 Headset
Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard
Razer Lachesis 4000dpi 3G Laser [Philips Twin-Eye] Wraith Red Edition Gaming Mouse
EVGA nForce 780i SLI FTW Special Edition Mainboard 132-YW-E178-A1
Antec Twelve-Hundred Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7000) (7000.winmain_win7beta.081212-1400)

Post Reply