Can I use a tv for a pc monitor

Got the best performer PC around? post your config here.

Moderators: rd, mel wilson, gbesoain, Cat1, ricktobin, groundsquirrel, Insured Disaster

Post Reply
User avatar
joeaw498
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2004 4:27 pm
Location: oklahoma

Can I use a tv for a pc monitor

Post by joeaw498 » Thu May 25, 2006 4:32 pm

I was wondering if my video card has tv out, if I could use a tv for a monitor on my pc. If so are there any limits to the size I can use?

Thank you Joe
I thought you fueled it

User avatar
skipperdan
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:33 am
Location: Florida

Post by skipperdan » Thu May 25, 2006 9:23 pm

A TV has much lower resolution that a computer monitor. You will probably be disappointed with the quality of the graphics. 8) 8)
I AM NOT A PILOT. I JUST LOVE AVIATION.

CAPTAIN--CIVIL AIR PATROL
...Emergency Services Training Officer
...Instructor at the Florida Wing Conference 2012.
...Mission Observer (front right seat)
...Air Operations Branch Director
...Flew several times in a Cessna 182 with G1000 (maintaining the MFD).
...Attended two day class conducted by the Air Force Rescue Coordination Center
...Completed training for Flight Line Marshall, Flight Release Officer, and Mission Radio Operator.

You should visit your local Civil Air Patrol Squadron and complete an application for membership.
.
Please watch this video that my son made of a Discovery Flight from Albert Whitted Airport (my home base). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-EMUg1jiCss
.
Please check out scenery that I helped develop for Albert Whitted Airport http://www.surclaro.com/download.php?query=KSPG&op=search&cid=
.
Check out this article in Air and Space Magazine concerning Albert Whitted Airport:
http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/The-Airport-That-Wouldnt-Die.html

User avatar
capt.PropwashKCHS
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1075
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 8:27 pm
Location: KCHS, Charletson, South Carolina
Contact:

Post by capt.PropwashKCHS » Thu May 25, 2006 11:22 pm

you can use a tv as a computer monitor. if you do, try to get one of the newer LCD flat screen tv's. yeah your resolution will be reduced by a good bit, but it will work till you can go get a decent computer monitor.

but depending on how bad you need a monitor, you can go to most any local computer shops and pick up a 13-15 inch CRT monitor for about $20-50.
Dell Inspiron 2200 Laptop
WINXP Home (sp3)
Intel Celeron M -- Processor x86 Family 6 Model 13 Stepping 8 GenuineIntel ~1396 Mhz
Total Physical Memory 1,280.00 MB
Video: Name Mobile Intel(R) 915GM/GMS,910GML Express Chipset Family
Sound: SigmaTel C-Major Audio

User avatar
joeaw498
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2004 4:27 pm
Location: oklahoma

Post by joeaw498 » Fri May 26, 2006 1:31 am

ok thanks for the tips guys. I'll go ahead and get a good monitor
I thought you fueled it

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Fri May 26, 2006 7:57 am

You can also get 19 inch full size monitors for $75 or less, used. New ones and used ones are available all day long on Ebay. But anything over $100 for a 19 inch I would pass on.

Let the bidding wars begin :wink:

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
mrbigtime
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 1:18 pm
Location: somewhere in the clouds...

Post by mrbigtime » Fri May 26, 2006 10:39 am

Once i tried to make a two monitor setup with TV.Multi monitor..and..it was better image quality like watching a pre-made visual presentaion.Tv has much better visual quality than tv.try it and see iturself.i bought and samsung 17" LCD and made multimonitor and using it with my CRT monitor.today iwill try 3 multi monitor with LCD+CRT+TV..Awesome!

Post Reply