Saitek SST Software Problem

Install help, recommend it, hate it, all about game controlers.

Moderators: rd, mel wilson, gbesoain, Cat1, ricktobin, groundsquirrel, skipperdan

Post Reply
makonyy15
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 7:17 pm
Location: Binghamton, NY (KBGM)

Saitek SST Software Problem

Post by makonyy15 » Sun Jul 22, 2007 4:22 pm

Hey guys,
I recently got the Saitek X52 Pro Controls and the Rudder Pedals and love them. However, the SST Software will not install for me. I couldn't really find anything on Saiteks site, so I was just curious if anyone here had the same problem. It goes through the install and then I get a message saying "The Current Version Could not be detected; the setup will now terminate" or something along those lines. Does it even when I try to download the software from Saitek.com instead of from the included CD.

Also had the pedals mechanically lock up and act funky, so I have to send them back for a replacement.

Thanks!

sonicboom2885
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 10:26 pm
Location: Debrecen, Hungary - Hometown Chicago, IL
Contact:

Post by sonicboom2885 » Sun Jul 22, 2007 6:18 pm

what OS r u running?
What OS is the CD and software compatible for?
Is this through USB or through a game port?
details man, details.

makonyy15
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 7:17 pm
Location: Binghamton, NY (KBGM)

Post by makonyy15 » Sun Jul 22, 2007 6:34 pm

Ahh details, yes of course.

I'm running Windows XP, the CD did not say which OS is works with, but on Saiteks website there are drivers and software for Windows XP 32 Bit, so I'm assuming the CD works with XP considering the Package came with an FSX demo as well.

Both Rudder Pedals and X52 running through USB.

User avatar
groundsquirrel
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 4929
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:31 am
Location: Navarre,Florida-USA (KVPS,KHRT,KPNS)
Contact:

does...

Post by groundsquirrel » Sun Jul 22, 2007 8:36 pm

Does windows recognize the controller by make and model in the hardware devices list?
Gravity ... it's an Earth thing.

makonyy15
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 7:17 pm
Location: Binghamton, NY (KBGM)

Post by makonyy15 » Sun Jul 22, 2007 8:47 pm

Yup, both are recognized when plugged it and work correctly in the game. Just can't get the software installed which allows for full customization and calibration.

User avatar
groundsquirrel
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 4929
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:31 am
Location: Navarre,Florida-USA (KVPS,KHRT,KPNS)
Contact:

maybe...

Post by groundsquirrel » Sun Jul 22, 2007 9:07 pm

Maybe there is a third party profiler out there somewhere, but my first advice is to get FSUIPC and register it. You will be amazed at the level of control assignment that it allows.
Gravity ... it's an Earth thing.

sonicboom2885
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 10:26 pm
Location: Debrecen, Hungary - Hometown Chicago, IL
Contact:

Post by sonicboom2885 » Sun Jul 22, 2007 9:24 pm

^^^^^^^^
ditto with what he said.

makonyy15
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 7:17 pm
Location: Binghamton, NY (KBGM)

Post by makonyy15 » Sun Jul 22, 2007 9:55 pm

Sounds good guys. Thanks!

User avatar
capt.PropwashKCHS
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1075
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 8:27 pm
Location: KCHS, Charletson, South Carolina
Contact:

Post by capt.PropwashKCHS » Mon Jul 23, 2007 1:06 am

I have the Saitek X52 with the SST software installed... off of the CD. If you want the software, PRIVATE MESSAGE me with your email addy and say that you want it, and i will copy the program off the CD and send it to you via WWW.YOUSENDIT.COM ( free to register -- it uses your email address to send files up to 1 Gig is size ). As I said, i have it installed and it works perfectly.

You say you have Microsoft Windows XP .. if you have the ORIGINAL CD, follow the following steps and this will cure your problem if you want to try it with your CD first.

1. find your SAITEK folder in your harddrive and delete it.

2. go to START > RUN > CMD (or COMMAND) > regedit >> Search for SAITEK

3. Delete anything related to Saitek.

4. Insert your Saitek CD rom into the Rom drive

5. Reinstall the software **BEFORE** you attach your X52 to your computer.

(6) durring the installation, it will say "do you want to install the SST PROGRAMING SOFTWARE??" say *YES* and then it will do the rest.


If you have any problems, let me know and I will make a tutorial for you with pictures that will walk you through **EVERY** step that you need to take to make it work correctly.
Dell Inspiron 2200 Laptop
WINXP Home (sp3)
Intel Celeron M -- Processor x86 Family 6 Model 13 Stepping 8 GenuineIntel ~1396 Mhz
Total Physical Memory 1,280.00 MB
Video: Name Mobile Intel(R) 915GM/GMS,910GML Express Chipset Family
Sound: SigmaTel C-Major Audio

makonyy15
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 7:17 pm
Location: Binghamton, NY (KBGM)

Post by makonyy15 » Mon Jul 23, 2007 2:24 am

Thanks! I'll be sure to PM you if I need any extra assistance if the CD doesn't work.

Thanks again.

FDX260
Junior SurClaro Member
Junior SurClaro Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 4:21 pm

Post by FDX260 » Mon Jul 23, 2007 2:52 am


makonyy15
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 7:17 pm
Location: Binghamton, NY (KBGM)

Post by makonyy15 » Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:21 am

That did it! Thanks!

Post Reply