Command Distribution on Logitech 3D Pro

Install help, recommend it, hate it, all about game controlers.

Moderators: rd, mel wilson, gbesoain, Cat1, ricktobin, groundsquirrel, skipperdan

Post Reply
User avatar
Dan Morera
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Heredia, Costa Rica

Command Distribution on Logitech 3D Pro

Post by Dan Morera » Mon May 14, 2007 1:15 am

Hi guys,

As some of you already know I'm new to flying and ever newer to FS2004. I got my FS2004 and just got the Logitech 3D pro. I was wondering what commands you guys had assign to the many buttons on this particular joystick.

I thought I'll ask to the people who know their craft, thanks or the feedback guys.

Thanks
Dan

User avatar
groundsquirrel
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 4929
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:31 am
Location: Navarre,Florida-USA (KVPS,KHRT,KPNS)
Contact:

well..

Post by groundsquirrel » Mon May 14, 2007 11:19 am

I currently have the Saitek ST290pro, but I did, and still do in storage, have the Logitech Wingman Force. It had six buttons on the base. I used them for my tailhook, wingfold, gear up/down, spoiler extend/retract, exit open 1 and exit open 2. The Saitek I have doesnt use base mount buttons, but has them arranged neatly on the stick peak. For this one I have them all programmed for trim and center-3 for view change.
Gravity ... it's an Earth thing.

User avatar
Dan Morera
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Heredia, Costa Rica

Post by Dan Morera » Mon May 14, 2007 6:39 pm

OHHH so each one of those 6 buttons can be used as a on/off switch, I thought I had to use one for gear up, and another one for gear down and so on.

Thanks man, that gives me a great idea on hoe to start.

Any other choices?

Thanks
Dan

User avatar
harkonnen
Top Contributors
Top Contributors
Posts: 2830
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 11:59 pm
Location: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

Post by harkonnen » Mon May 14, 2007 9:32 pm

My current setup on a logitech wingman extreme. :)
Attachments
STICK IT.jpg
Image

User avatar
Dan Morera
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Heredia, Costa Rica

Post by Dan Morera » Tue May 15, 2007 3:02 am

Flaps and breaks seem to be the most important one to set up, or so it seems.

Thanks again

User avatar
tropicalfish
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by tropicalfish » Wed May 16, 2007 9:29 pm

Do you have the 3D Pro or the Extreme 3D Pro?
Image
Computer Specs
Antec 300 - Case
Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W - PSU
GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-UD4H AMD 790GX - Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Quad-Core - CPU
G.SKILL 4GB 240-Pin DDR2-800 - RAM
SAPPHIRE ATI Radeon HD 4870 512MB - Graphics Card
Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB - Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 22X DVD±R DVD Burner - Optical Drive
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit - Operating System

User avatar
skipperdan
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:33 am
Location: Florida

Post by skipperdan » Wed May 16, 2007 9:45 pm

Here is another setup for you to consider: 8) 8)

CH Products Yoke:
Change Views (S)
Look Back
Brakes
Reverse Thrust
Flaps Decrease Increments
Flaps Increase Increments
Trim Up
Trim Down
Change Window within a View (A)
Arm Spoilers

Desktop Aviator Switch Panel #1
Ignition
ATC on/off
Spot View
Save Flight
Zoom In
Zoom Out
Prop Low
Prop High
Shift Z

Desktop Aviator Switch Panel #2
Auto Pilot on/off
Landing Gear
Knee Board
Tail Wheel
Water Rudder
Heading Hold
Altitude Hold
Push Back

Here is a link to the Desktop Aviator Switch Panels
http://www.desktopaviator.com/
I AM NOT A PILOT. I JUST LOVE AVIATION.

CAPTAIN--CIVIL AIR PATROL
...Emergency Services Training Officer
...Instructor at the Florida Wing Conference 2012.
...Mission Observer (front right seat)
...Air Operations Branch Director
...Flew several times in a Cessna 182 with G1000 (maintaining the MFD).
...Attended two day class conducted by the Air Force Rescue Coordination Center
...Completed training for Flight Line Marshall, Flight Release Officer, and Mission Radio Operator.

You should visit your local Civil Air Patrol Squadron and complete an application for membership.
.
Please watch this video that my son made of a Discovery Flight from Albert Whitted Airport (my home base). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-EMUg1jiCss
.
Please check out scenery that I helped develop for Albert Whitted Airport http://www.surclaro.com/download.php?query=KSPG&op=search&cid=
.
Check out this article in Air and Space Magazine concerning Albert Whitted Airport:
http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/The-Airport-That-Wouldnt-Die.html

User avatar
Dan Morera
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Heredia, Costa Rica

Post by Dan Morera » Thu May 17, 2007 1:48 pm

tropicalfish wrote:Do you have the 3D Pro or the Extreme 3D Pro?
You are right it's the extreme 3d pro.
http://www.progamingshop.sk/images/Extr ... %20pro.jpg

Thanks again guys
Dan

sonicboom2885
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 10:26 pm
Location: Debrecen, Hungary - Hometown Chicago, IL
Contact:

Post by sonicboom2885 » Thu May 17, 2007 3:06 pm

Oh Lord - i have this joystick @ home - bought it for $12 online including shipping.
Dan - if i may - get a new joystick or a flight yolk. No matter what i did, i could never get my Extreme 3d Pro to work right. It would alwayz *beep* up with the axis, the throttle. I dont know if it was a fault stick or even the software that came with it, but it was jus the most god awful thing to try and work with.
If i may suggest something, i would take the advice of some of the veterans here and buy CH products.

User avatar
tropicalfish
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by tropicalfish » Thu May 17, 2007 9:50 pm

For me, the throttle, is the throttle. The trigger behind the stick is the brake (button one).
This is how I configure mine:

Button two is autopilot disengage. Button 3 is Trim down. Button 4 is Trim up. (pitch).
Button 5 is left brake. Button 6 is right brake. Button 7 is spoilers. Button 8 is the gear. Button 9 and 10 is the L and R rudder trim so I don't forget the keyboard codes in the event of engine failure. Button 11 is flap down, button 12 is flap up.
Image
Computer Specs
Antec 300 - Case
Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W - PSU
GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-UD4H AMD 790GX - Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Quad-Core - CPU
G.SKILL 4GB 240-Pin DDR2-800 - RAM
SAPPHIRE ATI Radeon HD 4870 512MB - Graphics Card
Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB - Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 22X DVD±R DVD Burner - Optical Drive
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit - Operating System

sonicboom2885
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 10:26 pm
Location: Debrecen, Hungary - Hometown Chicago, IL
Contact:

Post by sonicboom2885 » Thu May 17, 2007 10:20 pm

man, i dont use the trim ever - instead i use the autopilot
landing is all completely manual. - i like the control 8)

User avatar
skipperdan
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:33 am
Location: Florida

Post by skipperdan » Thu May 17, 2007 10:48 pm

SonicBoom:

Please help me to understand your last statement. You state that you use Autopilot and then you state that you like to maintain control. This sounds like complete opposites. If you use autopilot then the electronics are controlling your aircraft--not you.

Why don't you use trim? Are you some kind of muscle bound weight lifter? Anybody who has tried to fly for any extended period of time in a real aircraft will appreciate the relief that trim provides. Maintaining good straight and level flight with trim is part of the art of flying.8) 8)
I AM NOT A PILOT. I JUST LOVE AVIATION.

CAPTAIN--CIVIL AIR PATROL
...Emergency Services Training Officer
...Instructor at the Florida Wing Conference 2012.
...Mission Observer (front right seat)
...Air Operations Branch Director
...Flew several times in a Cessna 182 with G1000 (maintaining the MFD).
...Attended two day class conducted by the Air Force Rescue Coordination Center
...Completed training for Flight Line Marshall, Flight Release Officer, and Mission Radio Operator.

You should visit your local Civil Air Patrol Squadron and complete an application for membership.
.
Please watch this video that my son made of a Discovery Flight from Albert Whitted Airport (my home base). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-EMUg1jiCss
.
Please check out scenery that I helped develop for Albert Whitted Airport http://www.surclaro.com/download.php?query=KSPG&op=search&cid=
.
Check out this article in Air and Space Magazine concerning Albert Whitted Airport:
http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/The-Airport-That-Wouldnt-Die.html

User avatar
Dan Morera
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Heredia, Costa Rica

Post by Dan Morera » Fri May 18, 2007 1:28 pm

sonicboom2885 wrote:Oh Lord - i have this joystick @ home - bought it for $12 online including shipping.
Dan - if i may - get a new joystick or a flight yolk. No matter what i did, i could never get my Extreme 3d Pro to work right. It would alwayz *beep* up with the axis, the throttle. I dont know if it was a fault stick or even the software that came with it, but it was jus the most god awful thing to try and work with.
If i may suggest something, i would take the advice of some of the veterans here and buy CH products.
Hey Sonicboom2885, I may have been a faulty stick man, I tried mine last night (for the first time the proud parent said:wink: ) and it worked perfect.

Got my first flight in my home country it was awesome. You may want to try going from MROC to MRLB. If you can try to find the upgraded airports and mesh it's real nice.

Thanks all for you help in make this a much much better experience.

Dan

User avatar
Pcgames2
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 10:18 pm
Location: Somewere on Earth

Post by Pcgames2 » Fri May 18, 2007 1:55 pm

My Logitech X3D acts up some times it will give rudder or ailerlon when the stick is center and have to recalibrate it.
----------------------------------
Trigger-Brake
buttons
#2-View
#3-Trim down
#4-Trim-up
#5-FLaps down
#6-Flaps up
#7-Kneeboard display hide
#8-Gear up down
#9-Gear manual down
#10-Power swiches on off
#11-mixture enrich
#12-mixture lean
No new specs yet I seem to in little bit of a pickle the mother B on eMachines T6532 its junk and supposedly gos bad after 2yr. Which has me worried ($200 Part) and not to mention the switch to DTV so my analog tuner cards gotta go.

User avatar
harkonnen
Top Contributors
Top Contributors
Posts: 2830
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 11:59 pm
Location: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

Post by harkonnen » Sat May 19, 2007 11:10 am

With this Logitech Wingman Extreme (literally 5 bucks refurbed) EVERY TIME you power your PC down and back up, it loses calibration. First FS flight after a PC restart involves funny rudder activity and general goofiness! Don't ever have to recalibrate in the actual 'joystick window'...all I do is wrench the stick to every axis a few times while flying, twist the rudder-handle a few times ...and it recalibrates from the stick activity itself. Try it. I think that's why they're $5 refurbs....first time someone tried to use it after a PC restart it went goofy and they returned it as a piece of crap. Well, it is a piece of crap if it doesn't work properly, but 'Budjet Hark' makes it work, LOL!
Funny story - these sticks were so cheap I bought two, and had picked up a second perfect copy of FS2002 somewhere used about a year ago. Just so happened that I got aquainted with a young guy i was working with, and through my blabbering I got him all interested in flight-simming. It was some fun showing up the next day with the joystick and the FS2002 in a box for him, all free...(it might have cost me $20 altogether, I wasn't going to charge the guy!) Not too often you get to turn someone on to something cool and then actually set them up to enjoy it....that was a buzz. Didn't keep in touch with the guy after the job was over....hope he found Surclaro! :lol:
Image

Post Reply