multiscreen displays

Want to give away that old FS98?, looking for FS98? come here.

Moderators: rd, mel wilson, gbesoain, Cat1, ricktobin, groundsquirrel, Insured Disaster

Post Reply
billybowser
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 4:54 pm
Location: looe cornwall england

multiscreen displays

Post by billybowser » Wed Jun 14, 2006 8:44 am

hello to one and all
i am building a flight sim in my garage and have beeen looking on the web for software to enhance multi screen displays
i would appreciate any info on anyone out there that has already gone through the motions that is to say, have you already done it and the most economical and practical way
cheers

User avatar
harkonnen
Top Contributors
Top Contributors
Posts: 2830
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 11:59 pm
Location: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

Post by harkonnen » Wed Jun 14, 2006 9:07 am

I can't help but please post photos when you're done, I love the idea.
Image

billybowser
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 4:54 pm
Location: looe cornwall england

Post by billybowser » Wed Jun 14, 2006 9:16 am

yep gonna be good
trouble is ive got to buy a shed for my lawnmower now lols

User avatar
Ice
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 4:31 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Ice » Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:05 am

a great program for multiscreen displays is Ultramon (www.ultramon.com). Its a program that allows you to easily switch programs from one screen to anoter and add a taskbar at the bottom of each screen.

User avatar
Flight
Junior SurClaro Member
Junior SurClaro Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 6:52 pm
Location: Great Sutton U.K. Nearest Airport EGCC

Post by Flight » Wed Jun 14, 2006 2:09 pm

I know you said software, but if you go to
http://www.matrox.com/mga/offhome/th2go/home.cfm you will find a piece of nice looking hardware that gives you a triple monitor display (assuming that you have two extra monitors or are willing to buy them) It costs about 170 GBP. Keep us updated on your garage project, I'd love to do something like that myself.

User avatar
wheelright
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 12:31 pm
Location: KDNL/KAGS

Post by wheelright » Wed Jun 14, 2006 6:45 pm

A program that you may find useful is WideFS by Pete Dowson. He's the genius that brought us FSUIP. His programs can be found at http://www.schiratti.com/dowson.html

With WideFS you can run addons on other computers connected through a network to the one running FS9. It works great.

I run ActiveSky and AISmooth on a second computer which allows my main rig to give me better frame rates. You can use it with any add-on that runs independently alongside FS. Programs that are installed into the FS9/Modules folder can't be run through WideFS.

Now, if I can only convince my wife to allow me to park an addon or two on her computer... :D

User avatar
skipperdan
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:33 am
Location: Florida

Post by skipperdan » Wed Jun 14, 2006 9:35 pm

Check out this link and see if there is anything here that will help you with your project. 8) 8)

http://www.flightsim.com/cgi/kds?$=main/m-howto.htm
I AM NOT A PILOT. I JUST LOVE AVIATION.

CAPTAIN--CIVIL AIR PATROL
...Emergency Services Training Officer
...Instructor at the Florida Wing Conference 2012.
...Mission Observer (front right seat)
...Air Operations Branch Director
...Flew several times in a Cessna 182 with G1000 (maintaining the MFD).
...Attended two day class conducted by the Air Force Rescue Coordination Center
...Completed training for Flight Line Marshall, Flight Release Officer, and Mission Radio Operator.

You should visit your local Civil Air Patrol Squadron and complete an application for membership.
.
Please watch this video that my son made of a Discovery Flight from Albert Whitted Airport (my home base). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-EMUg1jiCss
.
Please check out scenery that I helped develop for Albert Whitted Airport http://www.surclaro.com/download.php?query=KSPG&op=search&cid=
.
Check out this article in Air and Space Magazine concerning Albert Whitted Airport:
http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/The-Airport-That-Wouldnt-Die.html

User avatar
skipperdan
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:33 am
Location: Florida

Post by skipperdan » Thu Jun 15, 2006 12:00 am

Scroll down to the bottom of this link where you may find some nice links. 8) 8)

http://www.desktopaviator.com/


Note: I own both of these panels and I am very pleased with their quality
Cessna Panel 1010
Cessna Panel 1020
I AM NOT A PILOT. I JUST LOVE AVIATION.

CAPTAIN--CIVIL AIR PATROL
...Emergency Services Training Officer
...Instructor at the Florida Wing Conference 2012.
...Mission Observer (front right seat)
...Air Operations Branch Director
...Flew several times in a Cessna 182 with G1000 (maintaining the MFD).
...Attended two day class conducted by the Air Force Rescue Coordination Center
...Completed training for Flight Line Marshall, Flight Release Officer, and Mission Radio Operator.

You should visit your local Civil Air Patrol Squadron and complete an application for membership.
.
Please watch this video that my son made of a Discovery Flight from Albert Whitted Airport (my home base). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-EMUg1jiCss
.
Please check out scenery that I helped develop for Albert Whitted Airport http://www.surclaro.com/download.php?query=KSPG&op=search&cid=
.
Check out this article in Air and Space Magazine concerning Albert Whitted Airport:
http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/The-Airport-That-Wouldnt-Die.html

User avatar
wheelright
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 12:31 pm
Location: KDNL/KAGS

Post by wheelright » Thu Jun 15, 2006 1:21 am

Here's another multiscreen product: http://www.wideview.it/wideview.htm

User avatar
mrbigtime
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 1:18 pm
Location: somewhere in the clouds...

Post by mrbigtime » Thu Jun 15, 2006 7:33 am

i manage to use my x1600pro agp with:
1-normal CRT Monitor
2-DVI LCD Monitor
3-TV out to TV

this works great

Post Reply