Flaring

Comments, Bugs, doubts, help or anything related.

Moderators: rd, mel wilson, gbesoain, Cat1, ricktobin, groundsquirrel, Insured Disaster, skipperdan

User avatar
shaunlibby
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 7:06 pm
Location: Stornoway(EGPO)

Post by shaunlibby » Thu Nov 15, 2007 9:20 pm

heeshung wrote:Personally, 140 is a bit slow for my tastes (hence the stalling). What weight and percentage of fuel are you using? The default 100% that's way over gross weight?
im not sure how to check or change fuel

User avatar
mel wilson
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 4391
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk.
Contact:

Post by mel wilson » Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:05 pm

It's on the Aircraft Selection screen.

Mel.
Attachments
1.jpg
2.jpg
http://www.mid-suffolk-radio-modellers.com/index.html

User avatar
Cat1
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 2100
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:50 am
Location: KFTW (Meacham Intl, Ft. Worth)

Post by Cat1 » Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:35 am

I want you to notice the way Mel inserted these screen shots. This is the correct way and the way most of us are used to seeing them.

Previous replies are also correct in saying that the the plane is probably still to heavy with fuel and the CG is probably off as well.

Have you tried to land from inside the aircraft manually?
I want you to humor me and try it a few times. I know the instrument panel gets in the way, but you can type "W" a time or two and it will get you to a single line of gauges that won't be in the way but will allow you to see what the approach looks like.

I still think you are trying to swallow an elephant in one bite, but at least we have you taking additional bites.
Image
If you want to learn how to fly IFR and land with ILS or have any questions about IFR/ILS. Click this link and the information is there: http://www.faa.gov/library/manuals/avia ... _handbook/

User avatar
FSPilot06
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 2:14 am
Location: Shelby Co. (KEET)
Contact:

Post by FSPilot06 » Fri Nov 16, 2007 4:41 am

Yes. The joystick will make a world of difference. I was actually going to get rid of my flight sim before I bought a joystick. After I got a joystick, flight sim became a pleasure. Keyboard flying is extremely inefficient for flying. A good stick, the Saitek ST290 Pro, is available at most Wal-Marts for about $20.
Flying is not dangerous. If you don't trust something that has to be supported by air, stay out of a car unless it has solid tires. And believe me, those kind of tires don't ride good at all.

User avatar
shaunlibby
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 7:06 pm
Location: Stornoway(EGPO)

Post by shaunlibby » Fri Nov 16, 2007 6:01 pm

im getting a bit frustrated with this whole bounce on the runway- i cut throttles to idle at the minimums and disable autopiolet -then i flare and i still bounce on the runway<---with 747-400. is there still something im doing wrong.

User avatar
Cat1
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 2100
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:50 am
Location: KFTW (Meacham Intl, Ft. Worth)

Post by Cat1 » Fri Nov 16, 2007 6:21 pm

Still sounds like to me that you are decending to fast.
Image
If you want to learn how to fly IFR and land with ILS or have any questions about IFR/ILS. Click this link and the information is there: http://www.faa.gov/library/manuals/avia ... _handbook/

User avatar
Denholm
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 4:53 pm
Contact:

Post by Denholm » Fri Nov 16, 2007 7:21 pm

shaunlibby wrote:...Still flaring is hard with keyboard...does the joystick make much difference, as i hope to get the saitek x52 at christmas.
Definitely, I personally have an X52, although it's expensive I thoroughly enjoy it. Believe it or not I haven't had to calibrate it since I took it out of the box nearly a year ago!

I must say, the throttle slider gives you some good precision on landings. So if you have the money, go with the X52!:wink:

EDIT: Only buy the X52 if you have a powered USB Hub, otherwise it will be glitched.
Drug addicts are always disappointed after eating Pot Pies.

Image

http://www.603squadron.co.cc
http://www.603rdraf.tk

heeshung
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1020
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:24 pm

Post by heeshung » Sat Nov 17, 2007 3:55 am

If you're not flying with a joystick, I'm surprised your not getting landings that are even harder than that.
Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9450 @ 2.66GHz (4 CPUs)
4096MB Corsair Dominator DDR2 @1066MHz (5-5-5-15) 2.1V
Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD753LJ 750GB 32MB Cache
2x NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTS 512MB G92 Core in SLI
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1KW-SR PSU [80A]
Acer X223W 22" 16:10 Widescreen TFT LCD
Azalia HD Audio Connected to 5.1 Channel Harmon/Kardon Surround System and Plantronics GameCom 377 Headset
Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard
Razer Lachesis 4000dpi 3G Laser [Philips Twin-Eye] Wraith Red Edition Gaming Mouse
EVGA nForce 780i SLI FTW Special Edition Mainboard 132-YW-E178-A1
Antec Twelve-Hundred Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7000) (7000.winmain_win7beta.081212-1400)

User avatar
shaunlibby
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 7:06 pm
Location: Stornoway(EGPO)

Post by shaunlibby » Sat Nov 17, 2007 7:36 am

i have just got to wait till christmas then il will have an x52

User avatar
shaunlibby
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 7:06 pm
Location: Stornoway(EGPO)

Post by shaunlibby » Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:39 pm

hi everyone i just realised you can set your descend rate on an ILS-APP descend...so i set my descend rate to 400fpm and i landed half way down the runway...is this normal?

User avatar
Cat1
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 2100
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:50 am
Location: KFTW (Meacham Intl, Ft. Worth)

Post by Cat1 » Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:24 am

shaunlibby wrote:hi everyone i just realised you can set your descend rate on an ILS-APP descend...so i set my descend rate to 400fpm and i landed half way down the runway...is this normal?
](*,) This is what I have been saying...
No, it is not normal to be landing that far down the runway.
Image
If you want to learn how to fly IFR and land with ILS or have any questions about IFR/ILS. Click this link and the information is there: http://www.faa.gov/library/manuals/avia ... _handbook/

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:59 am

I try and make it 800-1,200 on the biggies.

Still sounds like your still going too fast on final.

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
mel wilson
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 4391
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk.
Contact:

Post by mel wilson » Sun Nov 18, 2007 1:16 pm

This may or may not help, but watch it anyway.

http://www.simtube.com/view_video.php?v ... ategory=mv

Mel.
http://www.mid-suffolk-radio-modellers.com/index.html

User avatar
shaunlibby
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 7:06 pm
Location: Stornoway(EGPO)

Post by shaunlibby » Sun Nov 18, 2007 1:30 pm

mel wilson wrote:This may or may not help, but watch it anyway.

http://www.simtube.com/view_video.php?v ... ategory=mv

Mel.
sorry Mel it did not help much

User avatar
Denholm
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 4:53 pm
Contact:

Post by Denholm » Sun Nov 18, 2007 9:15 pm

shaunlibby wrote:i have just got to wait till christmas then il will have an x52
make sure you get one of these to go along with it:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... &CatId=392

It will make a world of difference between having a blown out PSU and having a great time flying with a fun joystick.
Drug addicts are always disappointed after eating Pot Pies.

Image

http://www.603squadron.co.cc
http://www.603rdraf.tk

User avatar
shaunlibby
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 7:06 pm
Location: Stornoway(EGPO)

Post by shaunlibby » Sun Nov 18, 2007 9:46 pm

Denholm wrote:
shaunlibby wrote:i have just got to wait till christmas then il will have an x52
make sure you get one of these to go along with it:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... &CatId=392

It will make a world of difference between having a blown out PSU and having a great time flying with a fun joystick.
it turns out im getting the the Saitek ST290 Pro that FSPilot06 mentioned.

User avatar
Denholm
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 4:53 pm
Contact:

Post by Denholm » Mon Nov 19, 2007 12:11 am

Alright, just posted in case you were going to get one. It's always annoying when you get a present and after plugging it in it's glitching.
Drug addicts are always disappointed after eating Pot Pies.

Image

http://www.603squadron.co.cc
http://www.603rdraf.tk

User avatar
shaunlibby
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 7:06 pm
Location: Stornoway(EGPO)

Post by shaunlibby » Tue Nov 20, 2007 5:32 pm

Something strange keeps happening on the ILS descend to frankfurt's 25L runway. I put the ILS frequency into NAV1 and the VOR frequency into NAV2 and whan i descend to the runway-i set the trottles to idle then i switch of the autopilot and the plane pitches up wildly and stalls.

any idea whats going on.

User avatar
GDI
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:30 am
Location: New Jersey, USA

Post by GDI » Tue Nov 20, 2007 6:27 pm

shaunlibby wrote:Something strange keeps happening on the ILS descend to frankfurt's 25L runway. I put the ILS frequency into NAV1 and the VOR frequency into NAV2 and whan i descend to the runway-i set the trottles to idle then i switch of the autopilot and the plane pitches up wildly and stalls.

any idea whats going on.
I've actually had that happened to me. It depends on when you turn on the autopilot. If you turn on the autopilot while you had the up button on the keyboard pressed, when you disengage the autopilot, the plane attempts to do what you told it to do BEFORE engaging the autopilot.

To stop this- either engage autopilot and try to center the yoke, or attitude indicator before disengaging the autopilot, or (this is what I usually did), slow the simulator down just before disengaging the autopilot, and fix it then.

Hope this helps.

User avatar
shaunlibby
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 7:06 pm
Location: Stornoway(EGPO)

Post by shaunlibby » Tue Nov 20, 2007 6:52 pm

yeh i turn on the AP just after take off when im ascending...so when should i turn on the autopilot?

User avatar
FSPilot06
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 2:14 am
Location: Shelby Co. (KEET)
Contact:

Post by FSPilot06 » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:07 pm

Autopilots..... are really supposed to be used for cruising. Although some (and probably most), can be used to climb, I personally prefer to fly the plane manually in a climb, in case of an engine out or something.
Flying is not dangerous. If you don't trust something that has to be supported by air, stay out of a car unless it has solid tires. And believe me, those kind of tires don't ride good at all.

User avatar
shaunlibby
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 7:06 pm
Location: Stornoway(EGPO)

Post by shaunlibby » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:20 pm

FSPilot06 wrote:Autopilots..... are really supposed to be used for cruising. Although some (and probably most), can be used to climb, I personally prefer to fly the plane manually in a climb, in case of an engine out or something.
ok thanks :wink:

User avatar
shaunlibby
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 7:06 pm
Location: Stornoway(EGPO)

Post by shaunlibby » Tue Nov 20, 2007 8:55 pm

Thanks guys helped a lot

Locked