Default douglas dc-3 transponder?

Comments, Bugs, doubts, help or anything related.

Moderators: rd, mel wilson, gbesoain, Cat1, ricktobin, groundsquirrel, Insured Disaster, skipperdan

Post Reply
User avatar
KA0014
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: usa

Default douglas dc-3 transponder?

Post by KA0014 » Mon Nov 26, 2007 3:10 pm

hello all. i havn't flown the ol gooney bird for quite a while. but any way i was just wondering does any one know where the transponder is in this thing? :? i can't find it. but then i may be rusty with that old plane :lol:

DINGY
Junior SurClaro Member
Junior SurClaro Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 11:24 am

Post by DINGY » Mon Nov 26, 2007 7:48 pm

Probably does not have one. So ,then what you do if you are in Squakbox you type in the SQ Paine the following

.x 1234 where 1234 {Example} is the transponder Code number you desire and then click > Enter

This should do it and you will be Squaking 1234----EXAMPLE

User avatar
KA0014
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: usa

Default douglas dc-3 transponder?

Post by KA0014 » Mon Nov 26, 2007 7:59 pm

yes but even though the dc3 dose not have a transponder couldn't you use fs navigator to set the transponder? thats one way around that i would think :D

User avatar
Behrentzs
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 938
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 4:10 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Behrentzs » Mon Nov 26, 2007 8:18 pm

You could also just search avsim.com for: "Transponder" or "Dc-3 Transponder".

Cheers
Behrentzs
JAA PPL Trainee

User avatar
KA0014
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: usa

Default douglas dc-3 transponder?

Post by KA0014 » Mon Nov 26, 2007 8:26 pm

:lol: yes ya could do that as well.

User avatar
skipperdan
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:33 am
Location: Florida

Post by skipperdan » Mon Nov 26, 2007 10:42 pm

I have a perfect solution to your problem.

Contact the Middle Atlantic Air Museum and purchase their software for their DC3. I have been using their software for several years and I am a big fan of the staff at this Reading, Pa. facility. Their DC3 includes a Transponder. Go to their link for the Flight Simulator software.

I have met Russ Strine who is the museum president and pilot of their DC3 and their B25--"Briefing Time". I have used their software for the DC3/C47/R4D and their B25 for many years on various releases of Flight Simulator Software. I have met and exchanged several emails with Bill Rambow who is one of the programmers of this software.

This is some of the best software on the market today.

http://www.maam.org/maam_sim.html
After you open this page, click on the link at the bottom for STORE.
.
.
If you want to see some of my photographic work at their June 2007 WWII Weekend, click on the following link. My picture appears at the Top/Center of the page.

http://www.maam.org/wwii/photos/village/ww2_vil.htm
.
.
Here is one of my pictures for WWII Weekend 2006. This picture also appeared on the website Promoting Ticket Sales for the WWII 2006 Show.

http://www.maam.org/wwii/photos/aircraft/100_1372.jpg
.
.
Yes, I am a very big fan of the Middle Atlantic Air Museum
.
.
I AM NOT A PILOT. I JUST LOVE AVIATION.

CAPTAIN--CIVIL AIR PATROL
...Emergency Services Training Officer
...Instructor at the Florida Wing Conference 2012.
...Mission Observer (front right seat)
...Air Operations Branch Director
...Flew several times in a Cessna 182 with G1000 (maintaining the MFD).
...Attended two day class conducted by the Air Force Rescue Coordination Center
...Completed training for Flight Line Marshall, Flight Release Officer, and Mission Radio Operator.

You should visit your local Civil Air Patrol Squadron and complete an application for membership.
.
Please watch this video that my son made of a Discovery Flight from Albert Whitted Airport (my home base). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-EMUg1jiCss
.
Please check out scenery that I helped develop for Albert Whitted Airport http://www.surclaro.com/download.php?query=KSPG&op=search&cid=
.
Check out this article in Air and Space Magazine concerning Albert Whitted Airport:
http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/The-Airport-That-Wouldnt-Die.html

User avatar
KA0014
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: usa

Default douglas dc-3 transponder?

Post by KA0014 » Mon Nov 26, 2007 11:09 pm

hey great thanks. that sounds great. but i always use the free stuff in my sim. cause i hate waiting for soft ware to show up at my house. :roll: but i'll check out the links and the pics. thanks again skipper dan :D

User avatar
Behrentzs
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 938
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 4:10 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Default douglas dc-3 transponder?

Post by Behrentzs » Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:31 am

KA0014 wrote:hey great thanks. that sounds great. but i always use the free stuff in my sim. cause i hate waiting for soft ware to show up at my house. :roll:
Usually you can chose either a boxed version or a direct download..

Cheers
Behrentzs
JAA PPL Trainee

User avatar
KA0014
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: usa

Default douglas dc-3 transponder?

Post by KA0014 » Tue Nov 27, 2007 2:41 pm

oh ya mean ya just give them the creditcard number and then ya can can do a direct download that way? how cool is that? :D

User avatar
skipperdan
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:33 am
Location: Florida

Post by skipperdan » Tue Nov 27, 2007 10:54 pm

Here are a few pictures to grab your attention.
Attachments
oep_mouse[1].jpg
pilot_diagram[1].jpg
I AM NOT A PILOT. I JUST LOVE AVIATION.

CAPTAIN--CIVIL AIR PATROL
...Emergency Services Training Officer
...Instructor at the Florida Wing Conference 2012.
...Mission Observer (front right seat)
...Air Operations Branch Director
...Flew several times in a Cessna 182 with G1000 (maintaining the MFD).
...Attended two day class conducted by the Air Force Rescue Coordination Center
...Completed training for Flight Line Marshall, Flight Release Officer, and Mission Radio Operator.

You should visit your local Civil Air Patrol Squadron and complete an application for membership.
.
Please watch this video that my son made of a Discovery Flight from Albert Whitted Airport (my home base). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-EMUg1jiCss
.
Please check out scenery that I helped develop for Albert Whitted Airport http://www.surclaro.com/download.php?query=KSPG&op=search&cid=
.
Check out this article in Air and Space Magazine concerning Albert Whitted Airport:
http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/The-Airport-That-Wouldnt-Die.html

User avatar
KA0014
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: usa

Default douglas dc-3 transponder?

Post by KA0014 » Wed Nov 28, 2007 2:33 am

:D you was at the national airforce museum in dayton? skipperdan? i was to twice in fact. best place in ohio :lol:

User avatar
Cat1
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 2100
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:50 am
Location: KFTW (Meacham Intl, Ft. Worth)

Re: Default douglas dc-3 transponder?

Post by Cat1 » Wed Nov 28, 2007 5:46 pm

KA0014 wrote:EWWW! that panel looked like crap. lol now i know why i didn't get there plane. lol :lol:
How is that funny?
Have you ever been in a DC-3?
Image
If you want to learn how to fly IFR and land with ILS or have any questions about IFR/ILS. Click this link and the information is there: http://www.faa.gov/library/manuals/avia ... _handbook/

User avatar
KA0014
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: usa

Default douglas dc-3 transponder?

Post by KA0014 » Wed Nov 28, 2007 5:49 pm

yes as a matter of fact i have been. and the panel didn't look like the one in the photo that was posted on here. it looks like the default panel thats in the dc3. :wink:

User avatar
Cat1
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 2100
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:50 am
Location: KFTW (Meacham Intl, Ft. Worth)

Post by Cat1 » Wed Nov 28, 2007 5:55 pm

Me too, but the one I saw was much more beat up. :wink:
Image
If you want to learn how to fly IFR and land with ILS or have any questions about IFR/ILS. Click this link and the information is there: http://www.faa.gov/library/manuals/avia ... _handbook/

User avatar
KA0014
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: usa

Default douglas dc-3 transponder?

Post by KA0014 » Wed Nov 28, 2007 5:58 pm

lol im guessing so. the one i was one wasn't in very good shape either. but for it's 75th annivesary. they don't look as good as the did when the first came out :lol:

User avatar
FSPilot06
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 2:14 am
Location: Shelby Co. (KEET)
Contact:

Post by FSPilot06 » Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:17 pm

Man, I would LOVE to fly in an old beat up DC-3! I love that airplane! Anyhow, I checked out that link and it looks pretty good. I might check into that once I upgrade my compy. 8)
Flying is not dangerous. If you don't trust something that has to be supported by air, stay out of a car unless it has solid tires. And believe me, those kind of tires don't ride good at all.

User avatar
KA0014
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: usa

Default douglas dc-3 transponder?

Post by KA0014 » Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:22 pm

EEEK!! not me i would be afraid of it crashing. i'll stick with the new planes of today in the real world that is. them older planes make me nervus :oops:

User avatar
skipperdan
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:33 am
Location: Florida

Post by skipperdan » Sun Dec 02, 2007 9:56 pm

FYI

Here is a very nice recent AVSIM review of the B25 "Briefing Time" by the Middle Atlantic Air Museum.

The same great amount of care was put into the design of the DC3 as they did with the B25. The Middle Atlantic Air Museum hosts an flyable B25 and a DC3/C47/R4D. As stated in this article, they are able to develop great software for these products because they have actual aircraft at their museum.

http://www.avsim.com/pages/1107/MAAM/B25.htm

Note: Their software is compatible for FS9 and FSX.

I will admit that I am very fond of this organization because I have visited them three times (including the National AVSIM Conference about three years ago).
.
.
I AM NOT A PILOT. I JUST LOVE AVIATION.

CAPTAIN--CIVIL AIR PATROL
...Emergency Services Training Officer
...Instructor at the Florida Wing Conference 2012.
...Mission Observer (front right seat)
...Air Operations Branch Director
...Flew several times in a Cessna 182 with G1000 (maintaining the MFD).
...Attended two day class conducted by the Air Force Rescue Coordination Center
...Completed training for Flight Line Marshall, Flight Release Officer, and Mission Radio Operator.

You should visit your local Civil Air Patrol Squadron and complete an application for membership.
.
Please watch this video that my son made of a Discovery Flight from Albert Whitted Airport (my home base). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-EMUg1jiCss
.
Please check out scenery that I helped develop for Albert Whitted Airport http://www.surclaro.com/download.php?query=KSPG&op=search&cid=
.
Check out this article in Air and Space Magazine concerning Albert Whitted Airport:
http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/The-Airport-That-Wouldnt-Die.html

User avatar
KA0014
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: usa

Default douglas dc-3 transponder?

Post by KA0014 » Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:12 pm

hey now that looked great. that looked like a real b-25. i just wonder what kind of power that thing would take. i mean as far as frame rates goes? cause i have b-29's that suck the frame rates right down :lol:

User avatar
skipperdan
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:33 am
Location: Florida

Post by skipperdan » Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:06 pm

It looks good because the real B-25 is sitting in their hanger.

I have had the B25 and DC3/C47/R4D software ever since Fs2002 and have not had and problems with frame rates. 8) 8)
I AM NOT A PILOT. I JUST LOVE AVIATION.

CAPTAIN--CIVIL AIR PATROL
...Emergency Services Training Officer
...Instructor at the Florida Wing Conference 2012.
...Mission Observer (front right seat)
...Air Operations Branch Director
...Flew several times in a Cessna 182 with G1000 (maintaining the MFD).
...Attended two day class conducted by the Air Force Rescue Coordination Center
...Completed training for Flight Line Marshall, Flight Release Officer, and Mission Radio Operator.

You should visit your local Civil Air Patrol Squadron and complete an application for membership.
.
Please watch this video that my son made of a Discovery Flight from Albert Whitted Airport (my home base). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-EMUg1jiCss
.
Please check out scenery that I helped develop for Albert Whitted Airport http://www.surclaro.com/download.php?query=KSPG&op=search&cid=
.
Check out this article in Air and Space Magazine concerning Albert Whitted Airport:
http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/The-Airport-That-Wouldnt-Die.html

User avatar
KA0014
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: usa

Default douglas dc-3 transponder?

Post by KA0014 » Mon Dec 03, 2007 2:51 pm

great ok maybe one day i'll check out there airplanes. 8) but any problems with errors or any thing like that?

User avatar
skipperdan
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:33 am
Location: Florida

Post by skipperdan » Mon Dec 03, 2007 4:56 pm

I have never had any problem. They even have a forum on AVSIM.

They are so popular that you will also find many "free" repaints on their website.

Attached picture is of the real B25 and the real Skipperdan8) 8)
Attachments
Briefing Time-small.JPG

User avatar
KA0014
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: usa

Default douglas dc-3 transponder?

Post by KA0014 » Mon Dec 03, 2007 5:35 pm

:D great photo. i'll have to get them planes i guess. but im a little sick of bombers though. cause i was a virtual bomber pilot for 25 missions over germany :cry: . and i got out of bomber flying. :D

Post Reply