NAV vs. GPS

Comments, Bugs, doubts, help or anything related.

Moderators: rd, mel wilson, gbesoain, Cat1, ricktobin, groundsquirrel, Insured Disaster, skipperdan

Post Reply
User avatar
bromster
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 11:04 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

NAV vs. GPS

Post by bromster » Tue May 30, 2006 7:45 pm

Hi All,

I work on the ground for an airline in South Africa and I'm lucky enough to have access to SIDs and STARS for a couple of South African airports. When i'm flying an IFR flight plan, I follow the SIDs and STARS and this involves intercepting radials of certain VORs which is easy enough. I use NAV mode for this.

However, I never find the need to switch from NAV to GPS. I just follow the lines on my GPS from waypoint to waypoint after completing the SID. Now I'm confused because the GPS screen on the real 737 doesn't seem as complex as on FS9 and there is no line to follow.

My question is: What is GPS mode used for and when do you use it :?:

Any help in this regard would be highly appreciated.

Thanks,

Bromster.

User avatar
Red1530
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: New York State

Post by Red1530 » Tue May 30, 2006 8:31 pm

GPS is used when you have a flight plan and use Auto Pliot.

User avatar
skipperdan
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:33 am
Location: Florida

Post by skipperdan » Tue May 30, 2006 9:49 pm

There is a big difference between Nav and GPS

Nav allows you to navigate via:
VOR
ILS
If you use the VORs, you will fly a zig zag course from VOR to VOR.

GPS allows you to navigate via satelites
If you use GPS, you can fly a direct course from point A to Point B.
However, GPS is not sufficient (yet) to allow you to land accurately. Instead, you should tune your Nav 1 radio to the ILS frequency. 8) 8)
I AM NOT A PILOT. I JUST LOVE AVIATION.

CAPTAIN--CIVIL AIR PATROL
...Emergency Services Training Officer
...Instructor at the Florida Wing Conference 2012.
...Mission Observer (front right seat)
...Air Operations Branch Director
...Flew several times in a Cessna 182 with G1000 (maintaining the MFD).
...Attended two day class conducted by the Air Force Rescue Coordination Center
...Completed training for Flight Line Marshall, Flight Release Officer, and Mission Radio Operator.

You should visit your local Civil Air Patrol Squadron and complete an application for membership.
.
Please watch this video that my son made of a Discovery Flight from Albert Whitted Airport (my home base). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-EMUg1jiCss
.
Please check out scenery that I helped develop for Albert Whitted Airport http://www.surclaro.com/download.php?query=KSPG&op=search&cid=
.
Check out this article in Air and Space Magazine concerning Albert Whitted Airport:
http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/The-Airport-That-Wouldnt-Die.html

747-400man
Junior SurClaro Member
Junior SurClaro Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:51 am

Post by 747-400man » Wed May 31, 2006 12:10 am

Get payware, I have 5 payware aircraft and theres no such thing as GPS (atleast that I know of) you go by FMC or whatever you call it.

User avatar
FSPilot06
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 2:14 am
Location: Shelby Co. (KEET)
Contact:

Post by FSPilot06 » Wed May 31, 2006 3:35 am

Let's see... I primarily fly the Skylane on FS9, it has a nav/gps switch. I don't know about any Boeings, but when I flip the switch to "GPS", my VOR1 indicator begins showing how much I'm on or off the GPS course instead of a VOR course. It may be the same for all planes. :)
Flying is not dangerous. If you don't trust something that has to be supported by air, stay out of a car unless it has solid tires. And believe me, those kind of tires don't ride good at all.

User avatar
Max
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 832
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 8:11 am
Location: LQSA
Contact:

Post by Max » Wed May 31, 2006 5:08 am

There isn't a GPS on a rael 737 :wink:
Dont point your plane where you brain hasnt been 2 minutes ago.

User avatar
mrbigtime
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 1:18 pm
Location: somewhere in the clouds...

Post by mrbigtime » Wed May 31, 2006 12:40 pm

without gps i cant find my way via avionics :(.i cant read the panels.i mean i ofcourse can but dont know how to act according to it.i need to be trained :(

User avatar
bromster
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 11:04 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Thanks for the help

Post by bromster » Wed May 31, 2006 5:54 pm

Hi everyone,

Thanks for all the help. I also asked one of our captains about it and think I get it now.

Response to Max: The aircraft I looked at was a 737-200ADV. In the middle of the cockpit between the Capt. and F/O is a screen that looks like a GPS screen to me. ( It has a little plane in the middle and it's situated next to a mini computer that stores all the waypoints for the trip.)

If it's not a GPS, does anyone have any idea what it is?? (This sums up my history in FS, cause you get an answer to one question, but that answer gives rise to 10 more questions :roll: )

Thanks,
Bromster.

User avatar
Max
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 832
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 8:11 am
Location: LQSA
Contact:

Post by Max » Wed May 31, 2006 8:23 pm

It's a GNS, we use that as well, in the 727-200 as well. I thought you were talking about the newer 737s. They're equipped with an FMC.


Anyhooo...I apologize. Those 732's are lovely, we used to operate one for charters. Lovely JT8D's
Dont point your plane where you brain hasnt been 2 minutes ago.

Post Reply