Planes converting to AI for FSX

FS2002 and FS2004 AI features, doubts, setups, experiences exchange, etc...

Moderators: rd, mel wilson, gbesoain, Cat1, ricktobin, groundsquirrel, Insured Disaster

Post Reply
tmansteve
Junior SurClaro Member
Junior SurClaro Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: UK

Planes converting to AI for FSX

Post by tmansteve » Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:24 pm

Is it possible to have any of your downloaded planes as AI. It is very difficult to find good AI military and although the MAIW stuff is good, there are still problems with FSX.

I have been searching for a good tutorial but only find FS9 stuff.

User avatar
jaeger52
Top Contributors
Top Contributors
Posts: 1213
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:34 pm
Location: Minneapolix, MN

Post by jaeger52 » Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:26 pm

Tman,
I'm not really sure who our AI-"go to" guy is here at Surclaro, but until one of our people "in the know" are able to respond, I performed a Google Search, typing "ttools fsx". Here are a few ongoing forum topics for your convenience. Some folks seem to think that TTools will work with FSX and some that disagree.

I'll be watching this thread because it's a topic I'm also interested in.

...a forum thread on this subject at Airliners.net... http://www.airliners.net/aviation-forum ... ain/99585/

...and at FSDeveloper.com... http://www.fsdeveloper.com/forum/showthread.php?t=4264

...and another at ProjectAI... http://www.projectai.com/forums/index.p ... opic=54904

Hope this helps! :wink:

Jaeg-
Bruce aka Jaeg-

Project Developer:
- Around The World Search / Madeleine McCann



Image

User avatar
mel wilson
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 4391
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk.
Contact:

Post by mel wilson » Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:51 pm

It is possible to use your downloaded aircraft for AI purposes, but they will need to be trimmed right back, so as not to gobble up your frame rates. IE. Stripped to the bare minimum.

MAIW should work ok with FSX, what problems have you experienced ? never been a problem for me.

Mel.
http://www.mid-suffolk-radio-modellers.com/index.html

User avatar
jaeger52
Top Contributors
Top Contributors
Posts: 1213
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:34 pm
Location: Minneapolix, MN

Post by jaeger52 » Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:53 pm

Thanks Mel,

Ball's in your court, Tman!

Jaeg-
Bruce aka Jaeg-

Project Developer:
- Around The World Search / Madeleine McCann



Image

tmansteve
Junior SurClaro Member
Junior SurClaro Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: UK

Post by tmansteve » Wed Feb 25, 2009 2:13 pm

I tried the MAIW and the first time the planes were non discript. No textures etc. So I didn't bother after that. So I did some digging and started to look at the addon software (trafficX and so on).

I then thought of trying an idea of stripping down a downloaded military plane to use as AI and as yet haven't got round to it because of all the tutorials I have been reading to get a real working knowledge of AI.

At the moment there seems to be a lot of work involved and if you have the time to spare that's great. I will still be looking to install my own.

Many Thanks for the replies and links. Will be looking at them pronto.

Post Reply