windows 98 se and cfs3 video problems

Comments, Bugs, doubts, help or anything related.

Moderators: rd, mel wilson, gbesoain, Cat1, ricktobin

Post Reply
tmaksindy
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 1:12 am
Location: Indianapolis, IN

windows 98 se and cfs3 video problems

Post by tmaksindy » Tue Dec 21, 2004 1:23 am

I just loaded cfs3 on my PIII 800 mh win98 se. I have 250mb of ram and I have a Gforce FX 5200. The planes will not take off. The elevator does not operate. I have similar issues on cfs2. I thought it was my 2 yr old Wingman force 3d and got a new Logitec freedome 2.4gh cordeless. Same problem. I have directx 9.0 (c).

Any ideas?

Thanks for any help.

User avatar
paulvil
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 819
Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 1:22 pm
Location: Spring Hill, FL -KBKV-
Contact:

Post by paulvil » Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:26 pm

I know that your graphics wont be 100% because even though your vid card is direct x compatable win 98 does not know it (driver is not WHQL certified) Try also contacting Microsoft about the non flying planes, sounds like some sort of conflict. Any add-ons?
Mmm, 3.14159...

tmaksindy
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 1:12 am
Location: Indianapolis, IN

Post by tmaksindy » Tue Dec 21, 2004 7:07 pm

I did have cfs2, msfs2004 loaded and I uninstalled everything. I did get it to work last night and thought I had it fixed. It did not fix the problem.

I have IL2 and Janes WWII Fighters loaded and everything works fine.

So, is win98 more than likely the problem? If I upgraded to xp, would that fix the issue in your opininon?

Thanks for your thoughts!

Pilotwannabe
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 2:33 am
Location: Mesa, AZ - USA - KFFZ

Post by Pilotwannabe » Tue Dec 21, 2004 7:30 pm

upgrade to xp anyways..

tmaksindy
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 1:12 am
Location: Indianapolis, IN

Fixed

Post by tmaksindy » Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:38 pm

I upgraded to XP and it seemed to fix the problem. Too bad I can't fly my Janes WWII fighters though. :(

Anyway, I am really starting to like CFS3.

Thanks for you ideas.

User avatar
paulvil
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 819
Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 1:22 pm
Location: Spring Hill, FL -KBKV-
Contact:

Post by paulvil » Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:59 pm

Well glad I could help.
Mmm, 3.14159...

User avatar
groundsquirrel
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 4929
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:31 am
Location: Navarre,Florida-USA (KVPS,KHRT,KPNS)
Contact:

As to the "Janes" issue,

Post by groundsquirrel » Fri Dec 24, 2004 4:00 pm

Have you tried the compatibility mode to see if it will still play?
Gravity ... it's an Earth thing.

Post Reply