How can I make a helipad landable in FSX ?

Share your experience, or get help from the experienced ones.

Moderators: rd, mel wilson, gbesoain, Cat1, ricktobin, groundsquirrel, skipperdan

Post Reply
User avatar
gruberst
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 12:49 am
Location: Titusville, FL.

How can I make a helipad landable in FSX ?

Post by gruberst » Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:27 am

I have tried making an XML file and converting to a BGL using the following info I snagged from another post. It does make the helipad landable but it also adds a runway image (see attached pic). I have tried removing the text that makes the helipad invisable but the darn runway always shows up at about 42 meters. Works great, looks retarded. Can someone stear me in the right direction. Thanks
[/quote]
Attachments
Image1.jpg
Push the stick forward, the houses get bigger...Pull the stick back, the houses get smaller.

ricktobin
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1966
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 12:29 am

Post by ricktobin » Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:59 am

Post up the XML data.

User avatar
gruberst
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 12:49 am
Location: Titusville, FL.

Post by gruberst » Fri Feb 08, 2008 3:42 am

I'm sorry, that was kinda dumb huh. Here it is. Thanks for the reply.

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<FSData
version="9.0"
xmlns:xsi='http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance'
xsi:noNamespaceSchemaLocation="bglcomp.xsd">
<Airport
region="NorthAmerica"
country="UnitedStates"
state="Florida"
city="Titusville"
name="Jess Parrish"
lat="28.636778333333"
lon="-80.827345000000"
alt="41.97543"
ident="JPAR">
<Helipad
lat="28.636778333333"
lon="-80.827345000000"
alt="41.97543"
surface="UNKNOWN"
heading="0.00"
length="20"
width="20"
type="NONE"
closed="TRUE"
transparent="TRUE"/>
<Runway
lat="28.636778333333"
lon="-80.827345000000"
alt="41.97543"
surface="UNKNOWN"
heading="0.0"
length="20"
width="20"
number="36"
designator="NONE"
patternAltitude="503.799988"
primaryTakeoff="YES"
primaryLanding="YES"
primaryPattern="LEFT"
secondaryTakeoff="NO"
secondaryLanding="YES"
secondaryPattern="LEFT">
<RunwayStart
type="HELIPAD"
lat="28.636778333333"
lon="-80.827345000000"
alt="41.97543"
heading="0.0"
end="PRIMARY"/>
</Runway>
</Airport>
</FSData>
Push the stick forward, the houses get bigger...Pull the stick back, the houses get smaller.

User avatar
capt.PropwashKCHS
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1075
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 8:27 pm
Location: KCHS, Charletson, South Carolina
Contact:

Post by capt.PropwashKCHS » Fri Feb 08, 2008 4:20 am

i dont know of the name of the program that will do it, but you might be able to make the Helipad and such in AFCAD 2.2.1 (at least the BGL) then use the program to convert it to FSX compatible / useable. Ive heard people talking about it in the forums somewhere, but dang if i can find it.

hope this helps at all, if not, im sorry.

ricktobin
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1966
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 12:29 am

Post by ricktobin » Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:32 am

I'm most familiar with FS9 scenery design. I thought however, that knowing where to find info, I might be able to help you. Looks like that may not be the case.

Looking through other scenery design forums, I'm unable to come up with anything similar to your problem and have yet to see any other helipad or landable platform that includes as much data in the XML.

Have you tried removing this data:


<Runway
lat="28.636778333333"
lon="-80.827345000000"
alt="41.97543"
surface="UNKNOWN"
heading="0.0"
length="20"
width="20"
number="36"
designator="NONE"
patternAltitude="503.799988"
primaryTakeoff="YES"
primaryLanding="YES"
primaryPattern="LEFT"
secondaryTakeoff="NO"
secondaryLanding="YES"
secondaryPattern="LEFT">

User avatar
gruberst
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 12:49 am
Location: Titusville, FL.

Post by gruberst » Fri Feb 08, 2008 4:28 pm

Tried removing the portion you suggested, it did remove the visable runway anomaly, but the helipad then became unlandable (sinking through). BGLCOMP would not process the XML file like that so I had to use SCASM. I got the initial XML code from the following link. I tried both examples shown in the link and get the same results:

http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforums/s ... ht=helipad

I have done quite a bit of searching and have found very little on the subject. Thanks for your time and effort in this matter.
sg
Push the stick forward, the houses get bigger...Pull the stick back, the houses get smaller.

User avatar
gruberst
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 12:49 am
Location: Titusville, FL.

Post by gruberst » Fri Feb 08, 2008 6:46 pm

Thanks Propwash & Tobin, I'll keep digging and if I find any magic answers I will post them here.
Push the stick forward, the houses get bigger...Pull the stick back, the houses get smaller.

ricktobin
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1966
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 12:29 am

Post by ricktobin » Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:24 pm

I found one major problem looking at the link you posted. You are trying to use an FS9 method to create a platform in FSX.

Checkout the FSX SDK, that should definately tell you what you need to know in order to create this.

It's a little different in FSX and the best place to search for the answer to this problem, in conjunction with the SDK, is:

http://www.fsdeveloper.com/forum/index.php?

I'll do a little looking around and see if I can find an answer.
Last edited by ricktobin on Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
gruberst
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 12:49 am
Location: Titusville, FL.

Post by gruberst » Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:41 pm

Thanks Tobin, I'll try searching the link you provided. I used the FS9 version simply because it is the only example I could find. I know sometimes things designed for FS9 behave differently in X.

sg
Push the stick forward, the houses get bigger...Pull the stick back, the houses get smaller.

ricktobin
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1966
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 12:29 am

Post by ricktobin » Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:47 pm

Try this:

http://www.fsdeveloper.com/forum/showth ... ed+helipad

It'll require you to actually create everything yourself.

User avatar
gruberst
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 12:49 am
Location: Titusville, FL.

Post by gruberst » Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:50 pm

I'll give it a try. Thanks again.
Push the stick forward, the houses get bigger...Pull the stick back, the houses get smaller.

User avatar
jaeger52
Top Contributors
Top Contributors
Posts: 1213
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:34 pm
Location: Minneapolix, MN

Post by jaeger52 » Sun Nov 29, 2009 3:24 pm

Hark! Did you ever get to the bottom of creating a successful landing surface for FSX? If so, how big of a pain in the rear would it for you to create a few for me? More details when and if you can pull it off.

The BackLog just got longer! :wink:
Jaeg-
Bruce aka Jaeg-

Project Developer:
- Around The World Search / Madeleine McCann



Image

User avatar
harkonnen
Top Contributors
Top Contributors
Posts: 2830
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 11:59 pm
Location: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

Post by harkonnen » Sun Nov 29, 2009 4:26 pm

Hiya. I think landable surfaces are done the same way if you want to do them in gmax. what have you got in mind?
Image

User avatar
jaeger52
Top Contributors
Top Contributors
Posts: 1213
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:34 pm
Location: Minneapolix, MN

Post by jaeger52 » Sun Nov 29, 2009 5:05 pm

For the past several weeks, I've been working on creating what I hope will be a series of exciting Fraps Video's in the FSX world. I really don't want to say too much more on the subject, except to say that it's already becoming a pain in the butt because unlike FS9, FSX doesn't have an easy solution for scenery creation tools such as RWY-12 or Abacus' EZ-Scenery.

What I'm looking for is at least two Hospital style, rooftop helipad's at specific locations, and a three or four airport style helipads on the parking tarmac at certain specific locations.

8O

Jaeg-
Bruce aka Jaeg-

Project Developer:
- Around The World Search / Madeleine McCann



Image

User avatar
harkonnen
Top Contributors
Top Contributors
Posts: 2830
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 11:59 pm
Location: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

Post by harkonnen » Sun Nov 29, 2009 7:39 pm

There's possibilities Jaeg...I'm on my way out the door...let me get back to you. BTW, you have mail. :wink:
Image

User avatar
harkonnen
Top Contributors
Top Contributors
Posts: 2830
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 11:59 pm
Location: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

Post by harkonnen » Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:53 pm

My apologies Jaeg, between real-world stuff and my modeling obsession, I haven't made time lately to look at this decently. Can I get back to you on this when I relax a bit...there are possibilities for hardening surfaces, or adding a landable surface to what already exists. There also may be an easy way in FSX to put boats in the water wherever you like, but I do need to do a little research to explore the possibilities. I'd like to get a few things out of the way...I will find some time to put into this ASAP. :)
Image

User avatar
jaeger52
Top Contributors
Top Contributors
Posts: 1213
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:34 pm
Location: Minneapolix, MN

Post by jaeger52 » Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:03 pm

You got it Hark! NP, dude.

Expect an initial report on the Cop Car this evening.

Jaeg-
Bruce aka Jaeg-

Project Developer:
- Around The World Search / Madeleine McCann



Image

User avatar
harkonnen
Top Contributors
Top Contributors
Posts: 2830
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 11:59 pm
Location: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

Post by harkonnen » Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:28 pm

Right on, thanks. 8)
Image

User avatar
dirtybird
Junior SurClaro Member
Junior SurClaro Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 2:53 am
Location: KCHS ~ Charleston / 50j ~ Moncks Corner, SC
Contact:

Post by dirtybird » Sun Dec 06, 2009 3:23 pm

jaeger, I know hark is helping you, but i just had a thought that might be worth looking in to also.


You said that AFCAD 'will' create a landable pad, but it adds a runway to it. right click the runway in AFCAD and tell it to only make the runway 4foot wide, 4 foot long. ..... .or X by X. also you could possibly make the Landable area a "taxiway" (being that it hardens and flattens the surrounding area no matter what elevation you decide to call it) then put the Helipad on top of the taxiway.



Just a thought, if it doesnt work, sorry. Stick with hark.
Acer Aspire Laptop
Win7 Home Premium 64-bit (sp1)
AMD Athlon II X2 P340 (Dual Core) [2.2 Ghz]
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4250 (256mb)
4GB DDR3
FS2004 (9.1) = Ultimate Terrain, Ground Environment Pro, REX, Misty Fjords, Tongass Fjords
FSX (sp2) = Ultimate Terrain X, Ground Environment X, REX, FTX ORBX PNW-PFJ-NRM-CRM, OZx, Tongass Fjords, Misty Moorings

Radioman
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 9:56 pm
Location: KLFT

Re: How can I make a helipad landable in FSX ?

Post by Radioman » Sat Aug 13, 2011 6:24 pm

Try this scenery tool that is supposed to add a hard landable helipads to the top of a bldg or anyplace else you want:

http://www.hovercontrol.com/cgi-bin/ifo ... mg=&tt=zip

Post Reply