Problem with FSX menus

Comments, Bugs, doubts, help or anything related.

Moderators: rd, mel wilson, gbesoain, Cat1, ricktobin, groundsquirrel, skipperdan

Post Reply
nickjohnson
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:51 am

Problem with FSX menus

Post by nickjohnson » Fri Jul 31, 2009 11:56 pm

Hey guys, i've got a problem and knowing that i've been helped here before, i'm going to see if anyone knows what's going on.

I can load up FSX, no problem, and i select my aircraft and airport etc. i click fly now and everything loads fine. But when the sim starts running, for some reason it wont show the menu at the top? I've pushed, held and done everything with the ALT key as this is the one to bring up the menu. Also when i right click, nothing shows up. This is becoming a pain as every time i want to do something as simple as change the weather, i have to quit everything and go back to the start menu.

Is there anybody who has heard of this? Is it possible i've accidently pushed a command to change the setting or something?

Thanks, a confused Nick

User avatar
mel wilson
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 4391
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk.
Contact:

Post by mel wilson » Sat Aug 01, 2009 12:01 am

First step is to delete the fsx cfg file, for instruction on how to achieve this if you dont already know, check out this recent topic.

http://forums.surclaro.com/ftopic19063.html

Mel.

nickjohnson
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:51 am

Post by nickjohnson » Sat Aug 01, 2009 12:13 am

mel wilson wrote:First step is to delete the fsx cfg file, for instruction on how to achieve this if you dont already know, check out this recent topic.

http://forums.surclaro.com/ftopic19063.html

Mel.
Okay mel, thanks. So i just delete fsx.cfg and it will write a new one when it starts up? Will i have to be like, backing up this file in case it doesn't?

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Sat Aug 01, 2009 1:12 am

Yes, you probably should rename it "FSX.BAK". This way you will still have it. If it works after you rename it, remember to reset all your settings, and then delete the old one.

.
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

nickjohnson
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:51 am

Post by nickjohnson » Sat Aug 01, 2009 1:38 am

THANK YOU!

Deleted fsx.cfg and it works. The only prob was it was a pain in the **** to have to "re-trust" all my 3rd party add-ons.

Thanks guys

User avatar
groundsquirrel
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 4929
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:31 am
Location: Navarre,Florida-USA (KVPS,KHRT,KPNS)
Contact:

Take..

Post by groundsquirrel » Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:12 am

Take a little time to actually read the main cfg and you will see the structure of FS. The fsx.cfg is arranged in sections having to do with the various aspects of FS. Some of it may seem unfamiliar but the more you read the more you understand where you can tweak the sim. I know people who dont even use the menu bar, they keep a shortcut to their cfg and directly tune FS.
Gravity ... it's an Earth thing.

nickjohnson
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:51 am

Re: Take..

Post by nickjohnson » Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:14 am

groundsquirrel wrote:Take a little time to actually read the main cfg and you will see the structure of FS. The fsx.cfg is arranged in sections having to do with the various aspects of FS. Some of it may seem unfamiliar but the more you read the more you understand where you can tweak the sim. I know people who dont even use the menu bar, they keep a shortcut to their cfg and directly tune FS.
gs, as ive learned. i've now got it so it DOESNT display the "brakes" down the bottom left corner of the screen. god that was annoying, as if i didnt know i was braking. xD

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:25 am

Good stuff, glad it worked.

I always keep a backup of mine because of all the custom entries I've done to it. Then if I have to delete it, and build a new one, I have something to go back to, to put it as it was.


.
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
mel wilson
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 4391
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk.
Contact:

Post by mel wilson » Sat Aug 01, 2009 8:36 am

Glad it worked Nick, got it in one :wink:

Mel.

husee
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 6:31 am

I really like air shows

Post by husee » Wed Feb 03, 2010 6:38 am

Forums are always a main source of getting accurate information and provide you the handy results; you can get instant and reliable information which surely helps you in any field of your concern.

-----------------------------------------------------------
mcp 70-270, mcp certification, mcsa 2008

User avatar
mel wilson
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 4391
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk.
Contact:

Re: I really like air shows

Post by mel wilson » Wed Feb 03, 2010 9:43 am

husee wrote:Forums are always a main source of getting accurate information and provide you the handy results; you can get instant and reliable information which surely helps you in any field of your concern.

-----------------------------------------------------------
mcp 70-270, mcp certification, mcsa 2008
I am curios as to why you have two identities ? http://forums.surclaro.com/ftopic19148.html

Mel.
http://www.mid-suffolk-radio-modellers.com/index.html

User avatar
Haun
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 467
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 6:10 am

Post by Haun » Sun Feb 07, 2010 5:17 pm

I hate to hijack this post, but i have seen a some posters around like this too.
Like this cirag guy...http://forums.surclaro.com/ftopic19111.html

They just joined recently.

User avatar
mel wilson
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 4391
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk.
Contact:

Post by mel wilson » Sun Feb 07, 2010 5:20 pm

Haun wrote:I hate to hijack this post, but i have seen a some posters around like this too.
Like this cirag guy...http://forums.surclaro.com/ftopic19111.html

They just joined recently.
Haun, there are 7 of them, I have been on their case since Friday..... I am taking action pretty soon.

Mel.
http://www.mid-suffolk-radio-modellers.com/index.html

User avatar
Haun
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 467
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 6:10 am

Post by Haun » Sun Feb 07, 2010 5:21 pm

Cool Thanks!

Post Reply