X-Plane 9

X-Plane is a comprehensive and powerful flight simulator for personal computers. It offers realistic flight model available for home and it's currently the rival of MSFS
Find here comments, Bugs, doubts, help or anything related.

Moderators: rd, mel wilson, gbesoain, Cat1, ricktobin, groundsquirrel

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

X-Plane 9

Post by rd » Sat Nov 24, 2007 8:05 pm

Yep boys and girls, there is a new version of X-Plane available.

It is XP9. I already have v8.6, and may have to break out and get this one too. Screenshots look promising. The water looks almost as good as FSX.

You can check it out here...

http://x-plane.com/beta.html

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
harkonnen
Top Contributors
Top Contributors
Posts: 2830
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 11:59 pm
Location: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

Post by harkonnen » Sun Nov 25, 2007 12:28 am

Sweet terrain textures, holy moly! 8O
Image

User avatar
SU37Berkut
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 534
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 12:22 am
Location: KGSO

Post by SU37Berkut » Sun Nov 25, 2007 5:10 pm

That stuff looks like FS2002, I wonder what it will look like when they get to their version of FSX! I've seen X-Plane in Sporty's Pilot Shop magazine, and from the really little screenshot they show, it really looked advanced for something not done by Microsoft. :lol:

Well, I guess Microsoft has some of the most experienced simulator developers since they are the biggest company.

Is X-Plane very user friendly?
It sort of looks like it would take quite some time to get used to comming straight from FSX and the rest of the FS series.

Cheers,
SU37 Berkut
24.6 Hours logged so far...

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Sun Nov 25, 2007 7:17 pm

SU37,

I am not sure what exactly what your saying or asking. :?

As to looking like FS2002??? NO WAY. Even X-Plane v8.6 looks better than FS9 in all regards. And with XP9, it is better, faster, than those with excellent rigs to run FSX.

Otherwise, you cannot compare MS to Laminar Research. MS has 30 years of development experience, and LR only has about 8 years of experience.

X-Plane is A SIMULATOR, where as all FS?'s are games.

And for being user friendly, you have to get it, use it, understand what does what. It is not anywhere close to the gaming quality that Microsoft is.

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
121a
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 793
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2004 12:19 am
Location: Chicago,IL (KMDW-Midway)
Contact:

Post by 121a » Sun Nov 25, 2007 9:02 pm

i get an error when i try to install the beta. :cry:
I'll try again later and then report it to x-plane
Specs
Raidmax Smilodon Green Case
Sythe Kama Cross cooler
Intel Q6600 Quad Core @3.2ghz
8gb Corsair Dual Channel DDR2 800
Zotac 9800GTX OC'ed
250gb WD sata 3gb/s
650w Corsair PSU
FS9 on high-40 (locked) fps 35-40fps at high traffic airports
FSX high-low 30 (locked) fps 20fps at deserted airports

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Sun Nov 25, 2007 10:10 pm

All you can download is the installer. In order to get it, you have to buy it. The Demo is the DVD disc set. It is a Demo, because there will be updates for it.

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
SU37Berkut
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 534
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 12:22 am
Location: KGSO

Post by SU37Berkut » Mon Nov 26, 2007 12:13 am

I mean that seems like the X-Plane version of FS2002. I wonder what it will be like when they get to their version of FSX. I hope this makes sense to you. Sorry if I confused anyone.

Cheers,
SU37Berkut
24.6 Hours logged so far...

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Mon Nov 26, 2007 6:06 am

Here are shots from my X-Plane v8.6 I got Apr 2006.

Looks better than FS9, and as good as FSX.

RD
Attachments
XP.1.JPG
XP.2.JPG
XP.3.JPG
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:53 am

Well, I couldn't hold off any longer. I just ordered X-Plane 9.

When I get it, and install it, I will post up some screenies of it.

I can't wait.

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
capt.PropwashKCHS
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1075
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 8:27 pm
Location: KCHS, Charletson, South Carolina
Contact:

Post by capt.PropwashKCHS » Wed Apr 23, 2008 2:34 am

ok RD, its been 5 months since you ordered it... how does it look? I saw it on a shelf in a local EB GAMES store, and was just pondering over the front cover.
Dell Inspiron 2200 Laptop
WINXP Home (sp3)
Intel Celeron M -- Processor x86 Family 6 Model 13 Stepping 8 GenuineIntel ~1396 Mhz
Total Physical Memory 1,280.00 MB
Video: Name Mobile Intel(R) 915GM/GMS,910GML Express Chipset Family
Sound: SigmaTel C-Major Audio

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Wed Apr 23, 2008 4:44 am

DON'T BUY IT !!!!!!!!!!!

Last time I checked, none of the X-Planes are available at any store. There is an X-Plane that you can buy, but it is not the same.

(I'll double check, before I have to eat some crow)

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Mon May 05, 2008 5:27 am

Here's some Xplane pics.....
Attachments
X9.3.JPG
X9.2.JPG
X9.1.JPG
X9.0.JPG
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
harkonnen
Top Contributors
Top Contributors
Posts: 2830
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 11:59 pm
Location: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

Post by harkonnen » Tue May 06, 2008 12:35 am

Interesting to see the subtle differences between sims RD, thanks.

If you had to choose one.....?
Image

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Wed May 07, 2008 5:15 am

I honestly can't pick one over the other. They both have thier good and bad points.

There is one thing that I should say though. I have not done any tweaking, modifying, or anything else with X-Plane. It is bone stock. Another words, I have not changed any of the settings for scenery and/or environment.

When I got FS9, I played with alot of the internals, to see what I could and could not do. Basically, to see what I could "manipulate", to make it better, or to my liking. Some things worked, some didn't.

X-Plane is a different animal in every aspect. And to be honest, I haven't looked into how or why this or that works. FS9 keeps my head full enough as it is. And I am still learning new things.

If I would have gotten X-Plane for Christmas, instead of FS9 , I may never have gotten FS9.

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Mon Sep 15, 2008 2:59 pm

http://store01.prostores.com/servlet/x- ... tail?no=80

Get it while you can. This is a great price. And believe it or not, renders better than FSX on moderate machines.

Check here for more info screenies: http://store01.prostores.com/servlet/x- ... tail?no=80

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
Cat1
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 2100
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:50 am
Location: KFTW (Meacham Intl, Ft. Worth)

Post by Cat1 » Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:25 pm

I can barely supprot the c r a c k monkey habit I have for FS9, let alone FSX. Now like I need another banana gobbling habit to feed...

I'm hiding out behind dumpsters with pepper sauce in one hand and the other hand open :roll:
Image
If you want to learn how to fly IFR and land with ILS or have any questions about IFR/ILS. Click this link and the information is there: http://www.faa.gov/library/manuals/avia ... _handbook/

Jrtec13
Junior SurClaro Member
Junior SurClaro Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 12:11 am
Location: California

Post by Jrtec13 » Fri Sep 19, 2008 5:02 am

Picked up xplane 9 today, excited to see how it works, but installing all 6 disks does take alot of time. Thought I cannot find many xplane sites like surclaro or avsim, anyone know wehre to find addons and other stuff?

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Fri Sep 19, 2008 6:15 am

Anything and everything concerning X-Plane can be found or had on these two sites.

http://www.x-plane.com/

and

http://www.x-plane.org/

These are the only official sites to get what you want or need. Support as well. The .org is what you will want to check out.

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
King OF air350
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 12:31 am
Location: Butler Co/Scholter (KBTP)
Contact:

Post by King OF air350 » Mon Jan 26, 2009 3:22 am

I picked up a box of Xplane 9- it looked pretty good. Is it worth getting?

My pc (windows vista) can handle FSX at an average level, and I have an X52. Should I spend the money? It sounds interesting, but if it isn't much different from FSX then I probably won't do it.

Any thoughts?
Image

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:46 am

Last I checked, X-Plane is not available "boxed" at the retail level. You have to buy it directly from Laminar Research.

There is another Xplane, but it is not the same in any content, or by the same people.

Also, you didn't say how much it was.

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
King OF air350
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 12:31 am
Location: Butler Co/Scholter (KBTP)
Contact:

Post by King OF air350 » Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:41 am

wait....so the X-plane 9 in stores isnt the same one that this forum is for? I'm confused...

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/514K7mkZNsL.jpg

-thats the box I saw at Walmart. It's not on the website right now (so I don't know the price...it wasn't ridiculous), but I know I was holding the box in the store.
Image

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:41 am

I checked the pic, and the box does say "Laminar Research" on it. So it must be the same.

What I don't know, is if the boxed version has all the bells and whistles as the one you get on the site. Maybe something to check into.

Ooops, already did.
X-Plane wrote:

X-Plane 9 ($39.00)

This is X-Plane 9.00 on DVD for Mac, Windows, AND Linux platforms! This version runs on all 3 platforms and ships with SIX dual-layer DVD's! (To hold all the scenery from -70 to 74 degrees latitude!)

As well, this purchase includes free net updates through the entire X-Plane 9.xx run!

(NOTE: Some stores carry X-Plane, but they do NOT have the Mac, Windows, and Linux versions all on the same DVD, and they may be selling only an older version as well. If you want the Mac, Windows, and Linux version all on your DVD, latest version, then you should only buy here, from www.X-Plane.com. This is the only place where you can get X-Plane directly from it's creators, with the most complete installer and latest version of the sim).
This is directly from X-Planes site. http://www.x-plane.com/order.html

The cost is good, and comes with the bells and whistles. I have them, and the update to 9.22. It is awesome.

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
Cat1
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 2100
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:50 am
Location: KFTW (Meacham Intl, Ft. Worth)

Post by Cat1 » Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:14 pm

I was in the wallmart today and the wife and i wandered past the game department. I went in for a look and there it was X-PLANE 9. I bought it and am installing now. I'm up to disk three of six, and I'm all giddy with anticipation.
Image
If you want to learn how to fly IFR and land with ILS or have any questions about IFR/ILS. Click this link and the information is there: http://www.faa.gov/library/manuals/avia ... _handbook/

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:21 pm

Make sure you go to the site and get the updates.

Let me know what you think of it.

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
Cat1
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 2100
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:50 am
Location: KFTW (Meacham Intl, Ft. Worth)

Post by Cat1 » Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:04 pm

Still installing... Up to disk 5.
I've been looking at the site and am anxious to get the update, but it needs to install first.

Are the majority of the Aircraft/Helo's payware for add-on's? That's all I seem to be seeing, granted I have never looked for anything before now.
Image
If you want to learn how to fly IFR and land with ILS or have any questions about IFR/ILS. Click this link and the information is there: http://www.faa.gov/library/manuals/avia ... _handbook/

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:44 am

There's quite a few that are freeware, probably more than payware.

Where are you looking???

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
CessnaPilot09
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:07 am
Location: In my home in Alabama

Post by CessnaPilot09 » Fri Apr 17, 2009 1:01 am

60 Gigs of scenery detail?! What the?! That won't even fit in what's left of my little 250G HDD! Still I downloaded the beta and I think it's pretty cool. I like the panning with the mouse and the sunglasses feature. But did I see where someone wrote "6 dual-layer disks"? Is that DVD or CDRom?

Holy smokes that terrain better look good on there, and it better have the 182 Skylane!

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Fri Apr 17, 2009 2:07 am

They are Dual Layer DVD's.

To be real honest, you need a 120 Gig HD dedicated to X-Plane alone. Or.... you could do what I did. Just install the first two discs and be good. Even with that, my file size is still over 70 Gigs. The other discs are for the other countries like Africa, Asia, Australia....etc.

RD

NOTE: If you have X-Plane, these two links are important to have:

http://x-plane.org/

http://x-plane.com/

Freeware stuff:

http://www.xplanefreeware.net/

http://forums.xplanefreeware.net/index. ... =downloads
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
mel wilson
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 4391
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk.
Contact:

Post by mel wilson » Mon Apr 20, 2009 3:21 pm

Decided to go see what all the fuss was about and downloaded the Demo version.

Is it me, or is it not as user friendly as MSFS, tried my hardest to get into a full screen mode, instead of trying to fly in a small window on one side of my screen.

Scenery is almost non existant, a/c textures did not appear to be as good as fs9, only thing I was impressed with, was the clarity and sharpness of cockpits.

Not really convinced this is for me............. Unless I am doing something very wrong.

Mel.
http://www.mid-suffolk-radio-modellers.com/index.html

User avatar
Cat1
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 2100
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:50 am
Location: KFTW (Meacham Intl, Ft. Worth)

Post by Cat1 » Mon Apr 20, 2009 5:43 pm

mel wilson wrote:Decided to go see what all the fuss was about and downloaded the Demo version.

Is it me, or is it not as user friendly as MSFS, tried my hardest to get into a full screen mode, instead of trying to fly in a small window on one side of my screen.

Scenery is almost non existant, a/c textures did not appear to be as good as fs9, only thing I was impressed with, was the clarity and sharpness of cockpits.

Not really convinced this is for me............. Unless I am doing something very wrong.

Mel.
I'm having my own issues, but look at it this way... At one point in time we didn't know anything about MSFS either. There is a learning curve, and user friendly is the difference between a game and a simulator. X-Plane is better modeled as far as the basic aircraft dynamics go.
Flying with everything at maximum and it rocks, all but my skills that is.

You have to set up the screen in order to have it be centered, it's in one of the tabs at the top of the screen, set it to the max resolution that your monitor will handle and it should center up.

To me the scenery is leaps and bounds beyond what I have for FS9, and I'm also sure that the new system isn't hurting it either.

I have a severe issue with rudder trim, I think?
Aircraft above 20 knots yaws nose left so hard that the tires squeal, correcting is a fun time of over correcting and then fighting the same in flight with the Cirrus Jet and even the 172. The 172 looks like a fish in flight for all the tail swing.

Something interesting though, I had my first bird strike in the 172. I took off and lost nearly all control of the aircraft and was heading toward the airport building over a grass median in a steep decending right hand turn and flushed a flock of birds.
I hit several with a THUMP, THUMP, THUMP! Then I noticed cracked glass and a blood smear at the lower left corner of the pilots windshield. At first I didn't know what the heck happened! Then I noticed a lack of sound! OMG! I LOST THE ENGINE! Attitude... Lawn dart on re-entry, Speed... 60 Knots, Altitude... 120 feet and lawn darting.
I threw full left aileron, rudder and yanked back on the stick... by instinct I pushed the throttle full open (no engine remember). All I managed to do is make what could have been a wing scrape landing into an inverted flat stall at about 40 feet above the ground.
It was like someone attached a crane to the gear, lifted it up to 40 feet and let it drop.

This mishap alone makes me want to figure this thing out. :wink:
Image
If you want to learn how to fly IFR and land with ILS or have any questions about IFR/ILS. Click this link and the information is there: http://www.faa.gov/library/manuals/avia ... _handbook/

Post Reply