How realistic is MFS04?

X-Plane is a comprehensive and powerful flight simulator for personal computers. It offers realistic flight model available for home and it's currently the rival of MSFS
Find here comments, Bugs, doubts, help or anything related.

Moderators: rd, mel wilson, gbesoain, Cat1, ricktobin, groundsquirrel

Post Reply
flyinghigh
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 1:35 am

How realistic is MFS04?

Post by flyinghigh » Tue May 09, 2006 1:42 am

How realistic is Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004?? Ive seen a crap load of FS games and I want to get the most realistic one out there. Thanks, and srry if I posted this in the wrong board!

viche12345
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1420
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 4:44 am
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Contact:

Post by viche12345 » Tue May 09, 2006 3:07 am

Obviously, FS2004 is just a mere game. From what I've heard, this software just provides the basics of aviation. Aviation experts say FS2004 does not come close to real life aviation.

If you want real simulation, get Xplane. RD can help you out on that one. He owns Xplane 8 (I believe?) plus the 60 GB photoreal scenery.

Hope this helps.
There is no place like 127.0.0.1

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Tue May 09, 2006 4:48 am

WOW,

That really depends on what you want to experience. And what you know or don't know about flying. The best 2 out there are X-Plane v8.4 and FS2004/FS9. Thats my opinion only.

They both have thier Pro's and Con's.

MS FS2004/FS9---

PRO's---
_________________
Cheaper as is
Out of the box easy to use for anybody.
Addons galore, both Freeware and Payware
Has a training section, that can benefit most.
Addictive, Period
Plenty of support for all phases of a flight. As well as plenty of support for tech questions.

CON's---
_________________
Stock a/c flight dynamics, as well as freeware and payware not very ,,,realistic. Some are better than others.
Total investment could reach $100-$500. Depends on how much you want to make it better. Alot of payware sceneries, a/c, programs and utilities.
Sucks as default ( when you get addons you like, sceneery and a/c, you WILL not want to go back to default )
NO FREE TRIAL VERSION



X-PLANE v8.2+

PRO's
__________________
Better and more realistic flight dynamics
Global scenery better ( not really true for cities, but for the Globe itself )
Not alot of Payware addons that are needed.
Plenty of Plugins and free updates ( very important, get them )
Cheaper in the long run
Addons available, 95% free
FREE TRIAL VERSION

CON's--------
__________________
Higher initial investment
Addons available, but not as many
City sceneries not as realistic ( but they do have free addons )
Option Menu, takes awhile to figure out and work
Not as user friendly your first time out

I am sure I will get a barrage of this and thats on one or the other, that I missed . I am not a reviewer. These are just MY HONEST OPINIONS on the two.

I like them both, and fly them both regularly. Total investment in FS2004/FS9 is close to $400. With X-Plane about $100. BUT....the expense difference is my choice, and things I didn't have to purchase. So don't look at it that way. If they had more Payware for X-Plane that I thought I would like, then, it could/would be higher.

Those are my thoughts and opinions. Hard to recommend one over the other.

GOOD LUCK :wink:

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

flyinghigh
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 1:35 am

Post by flyinghigh » Tue May 09, 2006 4:49 am

RD, do you have Xplane 8x or Xplane 8 (what difference is there besides the x?? :P) and where can I get the program that you have along with the photoreal scenery? Thanks!!

flyinghigh
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 1:35 am

Post by flyinghigh » Tue May 09, 2006 4:52 am

It may look like I replied after you posted, but before I posted your post hadnt been listed so dont worry about answering those questions as you already have! Thanks for the info. . . time for me to break out the wallet!!

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Tue May 09, 2006 4:53 am

Flyhigh,

I have the BIG one. 7 DVD set, 60 gigs. You can check it out at the link below.

http://x-plane.com/

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

flyinghigh
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 1:35 am

Post by flyinghigh » Tue May 09, 2006 5:30 am

Overall, which on would you say has the best ground detail? Thats kind of what im looking for. As I type I have the demo Dl'ing so ill see what Xplane is like pretty soon (hopefully).

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Tue May 09, 2006 5:54 am

Flyinghigh,

Post up your system specs. Ram, Hard Drive, G-card, etc. That way you won't get something that you won't get the full benefit of. For X-Plane, you need a really good system to use it in all it's glory. FS2004/FS9 is more forgiving on frame rates and scenery detail.

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

flyinghigh
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 1:35 am

Post by flyinghigh » Tue May 09, 2006 6:03 am

not the best system but here ya go

HP 2800+ AMD Athlon XP Processor
1000 MB DDR SDRAM memory
CD and DVD Drive
ATI Radeon 9250 Video Card

flyinghigh
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 1:35 am

Post by flyinghigh » Tue May 09, 2006 2:16 pm

is my system good enough for the game and is this the same version you have. . .

http://cgi.ebay.com/X-Plane-8-for-MAC_W ... dZViewItem

When playing MSFS04 does it have the tower talking like in Xplane?

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Tue May 09, 2006 3:57 pm

Your system should be fine. I don't know what how good that card is. I don
't know ATI's card structure.

No, the one on Ebay is not it. The only way to get it is from the Link. http://x-plane.com/ DO NOT get it any where else.

Yes, FS2004 has ATC ( Air Traffic Control ). How accurate they both are, I can't say. I know they both have their problems, and you can get addons to make them more realistic.

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

flyinghigh
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 1:35 am

Post by flyinghigh » Tue May 09, 2006 9:30 pm

Thanks for all the info man, ive decided to go with X plane and im putting the money in the mail tomorrow! Thanks!

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Wed May 10, 2006 4:29 pm

Cool, enjoy.

The first DVD is 10 GB, so it will take awhile to install it. The others are faster.

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

Tenspace
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 8:27 am
Location: KDTS, KVPS Gulf Coast, Florida

Post by Tenspace » Wed May 10, 2006 8:16 pm

Yeah, RD's got me interested in x-plane as well. I'll have to check it out. Thanks, RD.

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Thu May 11, 2006 4:17 am

No problem Tenspace.

It is actually pretty cool, but like I said, I like them both. And they do not mirror each other.

RD

TOPIC MOVED to X-Plane, as this has changed to such. RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
Sunsetairlinerrepaintalpa
Junior SurClaro Member
Junior SurClaro Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 5:16 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Sunsetairlinerrepaintalpa » Thu May 11, 2006 10:52 pm

flyinghigh wrote:not the best system but here ya go

HP 2800+ AMD Athlon XP Processor
1000 MB DDR SDRAM memory
CD and DVD Drive
ATI Radeon 9250 Video Card
Your graphics card is good, so you should not have any problems with graphics... But make sure X-plane is compatible with it.

User avatar
Mythrilfan
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1204
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 6:31 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia -EETN-
Contact:

Post by Mythrilfan » Fri May 12, 2006 6:49 am

don't get him wrong, the card is not "oh-so-good", but it might do it for x-plane.
Image

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Mon Jun 05, 2006 6:55 am

OK a couple of tease shots of X-Plane.

EDIT BY RD: These are the default/stock sceneries that came with the Global Scenery.
Attachments
RD1.JPG
tease #1
rd2.JPG
tease#2
Last edited by rd on Tue Jun 06, 2006 4:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
webbert
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Barnsley Uk near DSA i.e finningly
Contact:

Post by webbert » Mon Jun 05, 2006 8:26 pm

RD,
your teasing pushed me over the edge and i just bought X-plane ](*,)
Cheers :lol:

EDIT: RD I haven't had the chance to go on X-plane. So can i just ask Are the default sounds any better than MSFS?
"What goes up must come Down." Well we'll see about that :twisted:

Image

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Tue Jun 06, 2006 4:11 am

Webbert,

It depends on the a/c. I think they are better on X-Plane than FS9. But that is my opinion.

Hope you enjoy it, I do.

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

Post Reply