Hurricanes

Have some weather knowledge?, Want to learn?

Moderators: rd, mel wilson, gbesoain, Cat1, ricktobin, groundsquirrel, Insured Disaster

Post Reply
User avatar
Red1530
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: New York State

Hurricanes

Post by Red1530 » Sun Jul 10, 2005 3:02 pm

Can the defalt real world weather in FS9 download a hurricane?

User avatar
Commander Cool
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 392
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 8:11 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland(EGPF)
Contact:

Post by Commander Cool » Sun Jul 10, 2005 7:58 pm

Ermm...im pretty sure you cant but why dont you just look for a hurricane somewhere in the world and fly there with real world weather or setting your own weather?
Derek
The good thing about being a pessimist is that your always being proven right or pleasantly surprised.

Linebacker Derek Connor #98
Glasgow Tigers

Image

User avatar
headshot21
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 1:19 am

no

Post by headshot21 » Sun Jul 10, 2005 11:12 pm

no if any1 noes bout hurricane denis down near florida i flew a plane out to it and i didnt see it so i went next to the eye and in the and nothing i did this through weather channel

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Sun Jul 10, 2005 11:46 pm

Agreed,

I tried the same thing the same way last year during the Hurricane's. You can get the wind, rain, clouds, but you cannot "FLY INTO THE EYE OF THE STORM".

I really wish we could, FS10???2006??? Who know's, but some day it will be a reality to fly into storms at real time with real weather and the problems associated with them.

Ardie/rd
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
skipperdan
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:33 am
Location: Florida

Post by skipperdan » Mon Jul 11, 2005 2:14 am

Why don't you'all wait a couple of days for GroundSquirrel to return home. His home is located in Pensacola, Florida and I suspect that he moved his family to safer grounds a couple of days ago. Perhaps he will have some real stories to tell when he comes back on line.
I AM NOT A PILOT. I JUST LOVE AVIATION.

CAPTAIN--CIVIL AIR PATROL
...Emergency Services Training Officer
...Instructor at the Florida Wing Conference 2012.
...Mission Observer (front right seat)
...Air Operations Branch Director
...Flew several times in a Cessna 182 with G1000 (maintaining the MFD).
...Attended two day class conducted by the Air Force Rescue Coordination Center
...Completed training for Flight Line Marshall, Flight Release Officer, and Mission Radio Operator.

You should visit your local Civil Air Patrol Squadron and complete an application for membership.
.
Please watch this video that my son made of a Discovery Flight from Albert Whitted Airport (my home base). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-EMUg1jiCss
.
Please check out scenery that I helped develop for Albert Whitted Airport http://www.surclaro.com/download.php?query=KSPG&op=search&cid=
.
Check out this article in Air and Space Magazine concerning Albert Whitted Airport:
http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/The-Airport-That-Wouldnt-Die.html

User avatar
EricEsasco
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 1:12 pm
Location: Chicago Illinois

Post by EricEsasco » Mon Jul 11, 2005 6:42 am

Short answer is no, The default weather model is not sophisticated enough. It generates an average weather pattern based on the nearest stations.
I was intrigued by this, however, as I have an add on weather engine. I downloaded the conditions as of 11:00 am local time 07/10/2005 and took off from pensacola NAB and headed out at a bearing of 170. The hercules C-130 seemed a good choice for this mission yet it still had a bit of trouble staying true on the runway. Once aloft and after 15 minutes of rather severe conditions a clear area appeared on my weather radar in the wake of the storm I was in and viola ! A fairly calm area appeared. The add on is active-sky 2004.5. Bear in mind that not all weather stations report at times of severe weather and the sim is only as accurate as the data.
Attachments
Hurricane.JPG
Hey, whats this button do...?

User avatar
ikkedus
New Forum Member
New Forum Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 11:56 pm
Location: Belgium

Post by ikkedus » Mon Jul 11, 2005 4:52 pm

Nice plane, What tipe is it?? and how do you get that weather radar add-on??

User avatar
thepackrat
Junior SurClaro Member
Junior SurClaro Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 11:43 am
Location: Kentucky

Post by thepackrat » Mon Jul 11, 2005 5:06 pm

There is an attempt on this website,
no wall cloud, no obvious circulation

..but they do have some strong winds, rain, and
it will blow a c172 all over the place.

see fs2004_ivan_garversion.zip

ricktobin
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1966
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 12:29 am

Post by ricktobin » Mon Jul 11, 2005 5:45 pm

ikkedus...

The weather engine is called ActiveSky and you can get it at

www.hifisim.com

It's not free, but it's definately worth the money.

User avatar
Red1530
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: New York State

Re: no

Post by Red1530 » Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:30 pm

headshot21 wrote:no if any1 noes bout hurricane denis down near florida i flew a plane out to it and i didnt see it so i went next to the eye and in the and nothing i did this through weather channel
I tryed that too.

User avatar
Mythrilfan
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1204
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 6:31 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia -EETN-
Contact:

Post by Mythrilfan » Tue Jul 12, 2005 7:09 pm

ikkedus wrote:Nice plane, What tipe is it??
The C-17 Globemaster III
Image

Post Reply