Freezing Rain and Sleet

Have some weather knowledge?, Want to learn?

Moderators: rd, mel wilson, gbesoain, Cat1, ricktobin, groundsquirrel, Insured Disaster

Post Reply
User avatar
Red1530
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: New York State

Freezing Rain and Sleet

Post by Red1530 » Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:26 am

Is it possible in fs9 to replicate frezzing rain and sleet?

User avatar
groundsquirrel
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 4929
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:31 am
Location: Navarre,Florida-USA (KVPS,KHRT,KPNS)
Contact:

yes

Post by groundsquirrel » Thu Dec 15, 2005 3:30 am

yes....place your monitor by the window. then, take your wireless joystick and go outside. Now you are flying in freezing rain and sleet.
Gravity ... it's an Earth thing.

User avatar
King_Air
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 12:56 am
Location: T28 (now KLZZ)

Freezing Rain and Sleet

Post by King_Air » Thu Dec 15, 2005 3:34 am

If you want to put it in technicality, yes and no.

Yes, the MFS9 does simulate "sleet" and "freezing rain". Its simulates the effect of Ice build up on the wings, props, jet fans, etc. The sleet and freezing rain in MFS9 you could simply call snow (for the most part).

NO!!, If you are wondering, MFS DOES NOT simulate the effects of ice build up on the runway, and stuff of that nature. I have flown many a flight on MFS8 & 9 up in Pennsylvania, and i have never once seen anything to do with runway "black ice" (if you will).

I do however hope that they improve this kinda stuff so it closely resembles what you are asking. I also hope that Microsoft can model the effects of reflections of the aircraft off the Tarmac when it rains.

Anyways, Hope This Helps!

King_Air
Texas Airways© was created, and is owned by King_Air. Any attempts to create an airline with the same name etc. will be punishible by law. All aircraft paints, logos, etc., are all trademarks of Texas Airways©.
Copywrited© 08/01/05

May the Greatest Scoutmaster of all scouts be with us till we meet again, may we all follow the path to EAGLE.

User avatar
boeingman777
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:56 pm
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina (KRDU)

Post by boeingman777 » Thu Dec 15, 2005 1:00 pm

LOL @ G/S! :D Yep, I was wondering what was up with you :) Glad you're back, and thanks for the laugh here... :D
Image

User avatar
Red1530
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: New York State

Re: yes

Post by Red1530 » Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:37 pm

groundsquirrel wrote:yes....place your monitor by the window. then, take your wireless joystick and go outside. Now you are flying in freezing rain and sleet.
Very Funny :P

User avatar
skipperdan
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:33 am
Location: Florida

Post by skipperdan » Thu Dec 15, 2005 11:18 pm

Groundsquirrel:

Does Microsoft Flight Simulator allow us to simulate the effects of a hurricane?
I AM NOT A PILOT. I JUST LOVE AVIATION.

CAPTAIN--CIVIL AIR PATROL
...Emergency Services Training Officer
...Instructor at the Florida Wing Conference 2012.
...Mission Observer (front right seat)
...Air Operations Branch Director
...Flew several times in a Cessna 182 with G1000 (maintaining the MFD).
...Attended two day class conducted by the Air Force Rescue Coordination Center
...Completed training for Flight Line Marshall, Flight Release Officer, and Mission Radio Operator.

You should visit your local Civil Air Patrol Squadron and complete an application for membership.
.
Please watch this video that my son made of a Discovery Flight from Albert Whitted Airport (my home base). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-EMUg1jiCss
.
Please check out scenery that I helped develop for Albert Whitted Airport http://www.surclaro.com/download.php?query=KSPG&op=search&cid=
.
Check out this article in Air and Space Magazine concerning Albert Whitted Airport:
http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/The-Airport-That-Wouldnt-Die.html

User avatar
King_Air
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
SurClaro.com Regular Forum Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 12:56 am
Location: T28 (now KLZZ)

Freezing Rain and Sleet

Post by King_Air » Thu Dec 15, 2005 11:34 pm

unfortunately Skipper, no MFS9 does not model hurricanes.
The most that you will; get from flying in a hurricane is lots on wind, rain, and low pressure.

I think that this should be another thing Microsoft should work on.

King_Air
Texas Airways© was created, and is owned by King_Air. Any attempts to create an airline with the same name etc. will be punishible by law. All aircraft paints, logos, etc., are all trademarks of Texas Airways©.
Copywrited© 08/01/05

May the Greatest Scoutmaster of all scouts be with us till we meet again, may we all follow the path to EAGLE.

User avatar
skipperdan
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:33 am
Location: Florida

Post by skipperdan » Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:16 am

Thanks for the information King-Air. However, I am curious to see what Groundsquirrel has to say about this subject. I heard a rumor that he knows something about hurricanes. 8) 8)
I AM NOT A PILOT. I JUST LOVE AVIATION.

CAPTAIN--CIVIL AIR PATROL
...Emergency Services Training Officer
...Instructor at the Florida Wing Conference 2012.
...Mission Observer (front right seat)
...Air Operations Branch Director
...Flew several times in a Cessna 182 with G1000 (maintaining the MFD).
...Attended two day class conducted by the Air Force Rescue Coordination Center
...Completed training for Flight Line Marshall, Flight Release Officer, and Mission Radio Operator.

You should visit your local Civil Air Patrol Squadron and complete an application for membership.
.
Please watch this video that my son made of a Discovery Flight from Albert Whitted Airport (my home base). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-EMUg1jiCss
.
Please check out scenery that I helped develop for Albert Whitted Airport http://www.surclaro.com/download.php?query=KSPG&op=search&cid=
.
Check out this article in Air and Space Magazine concerning Albert Whitted Airport:
http://www.airspacemag.com/history-of-flight/The-Airport-That-Wouldnt-Die.html

User avatar
tropicalfish
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by tropicalfish » Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:28 am

yeah you can see ice build up on runways!!! just go to a cold place, set real world weather when it snows, and watch it turn the runway white.. however, you will not get the feeling of the runway being slippery
Image
Computer Specs
Antec 300 - Case
Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W - PSU
GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-UD4H AMD 790GX - Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Quad-Core - CPU
G.SKILL 4GB 240-Pin DDR2-800 - RAM
SAPPHIRE ATI Radeon HD 4870 512MB - Graphics Card
Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB - Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 22X DVD±R DVD Burner - Optical Drive
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit - Operating System

User avatar
groundsquirrel
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 4929
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:31 am
Location: Navarre,Florida-USA (KVPS,KHRT,KPNS)
Contact:

if.......

Post by groundsquirrel » Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:39 am

If it was a rumour, then you started it my fine south Florida friend :lol: . King is right though. There is no weather model for funnels or rotors (like a tornado or vortice only it is horizontal, usually occurs along high mountain ridges or along crevasses) in Fs9. You can max out turbulence and barometric variances if you have FSUIPC registered and it will toss you about quite nicely. It's hard to resist the temptation to correct your attitude when experiencing large altitude shifts, but if you hang on it can be quite a show in VC or tower view modes.

As for real hurricanes? Come get you some, I would hate to spoil the experience by telling you about it. However, I am willing to take questions, my experience is based on riding out 6 hurricanes and evacuating for one. I have also experienced a typhoon while my Dad was stationed at Kadena. I couldnt tell you how many Skip' has seen, or Paulvil for that matter. I believe a couple of our Alabama members may be in the club as well. I know it's hard to believe, but some of our summer thunderstorms are worse than the hurricanes, around here anyways.
Gravity ... it's an Earth thing.

heeshung
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1020
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:24 pm

Post by heeshung » Fri Dec 16, 2005 1:43 am

Actually you can experience an ice runway. Go to NZIR (type it in for "Airport ID" in FS9). Take off, circle around and land. Good luck getting your airplane to stop! :wink:

User avatar
sgtdirtybum
Junior SurClaro Member
Junior SurClaro Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 9:41 pm
Location: KSAT

Post by sgtdirtybum » Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:46 pm

This is one topic that brings up interest with me too.... i fly alot during current weather conditions up where it is very "winter-like" and not once have I noticed any sliding, or skidding what so ever. This is quite disheartening since I love how "real" the simulator seems....... especially since i added UT and FSPass (which btw is pretty *beep* picky if you ask me!! lol). I think that would be pretty cool if someone could figure out how to make an add-on effect for iced runways! :D

heeshung
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1020
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:24 pm

Post by heeshung » Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:06 am

Try NZIR!! :D Just type it in for the Airport ID in FS2004.

User avatar
tropicalfish
Addict to SurClaro
Addict to SurClaro
Posts: 1865
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by tropicalfish » Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:33 am

at NZIR, the ground is so slippery, brakes are useless.... onle flaps spoilers and reverse thrust... the plane even moves when P brake is set and engines are idling.... when full throttle and P brake, the plane moves like the parking brakes arnt set on the normal runway
Image
Computer Specs
Antec 300 - Case
Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W - PSU
GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-UD4H AMD 790GX - Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Quad-Core - CPU
G.SKILL 4GB 240-Pin DDR2-800 - RAM
SAPPHIRE ATI Radeon HD 4870 512MB - Graphics Card
Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB - Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 22X DVD±R DVD Burner - Optical Drive
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit - Operating System

User avatar
sgtdirtybum
Junior SurClaro Member
Junior SurClaro Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 9:41 pm
Location: KSAT

wow........

Post by sgtdirtybum » Wed Jan 04, 2006 5:56 pm

now this.... I've got to try!!!

Cool!!! :D

User avatar
Boldpilot
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:33 am
Location: Wyndham Vale, Australia

Freezing rain and sleet

Post by Boldpilot » Sat Sep 29, 2007 10:17 pm

Has anyone experienced speed gauge failure when flying in heavy snow conditions .fs9

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Sun Sep 30, 2007 3:43 am

Only when I didn't turn on the pitot or put jack in my coffee.

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
Boldpilot
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:33 am
Location: Wyndham Vale, Australia

Freezing Rain and Sleet

Post by Boldpilot » Sun Sep 30, 2007 3:55 am

G'day RD, That stuffs poison . The reason I asked is because I haven't got to the bottom of the gauges stopping working in Heavy Snow conditions ,they seem to work OK in all other conditions .They also stop working in the RAF 747 you did for me ,aye?. There seems to be a tie up somewhere ,might be a glitch in fs9, Cheers ,Art

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:37 am

Are you using default weather conditions or Real Weather???

If default, let me know. I will fly it as winter conditions you mentioned, and see what happens.

Also, which gauges exactly are not working correctly.

If you want to, you can make a new thread concerning this.

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
Boldpilot
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:33 am
Location: Wyndham Vale, Australia

Freezing Rain and Sleet

Post by Boldpilot » Sun Sep 30, 2007 9:10 am

G'day RD, In the attachment you will see I was flying and climbing to 4000 feet ,the speed is still showing on the GPS screen but it would increase rapidly if I had left the speed gauge at zero [it had just tripped to zero] The weather was at the default Heavy Snows. Auto-pilot and auto-throttle still engaged. Location was in Germany. Barometric pressure set as advised by ATC.
I have been communicating on the FS2004 section ,you can move this there if you wish,Regards,Art
Attachments
B747SP.JPG

User avatar
Boldpilot
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:33 am
Location: Wyndham Vale, Australia

Freezing Rain and Sleet

Post by Boldpilot » Sun Oct 07, 2007 6:08 am

G'day Heeshung, I have tried placing NZIR into flight departure and destination in FS9 with no result .I take it this is McMurdo station .How can I get there with an aircraft.

User avatar
groundsquirrel
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 4929
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:31 am
Location: Navarre,Florida-USA (KVPS,KHRT,KPNS)
Contact:

hmmm.

Post by groundsquirrel » Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:23 am

I set my startup point to nzir and popped up there with no problem. It may be that due to it's remote location there may not be any navaids for it. Try a search for "antarctica" in the downloads library here and at the other major sites for scenery addons. I recall that there were a couple of adventures as well as some scenery enhancements that may help.
Gravity ... it's an Earth thing.

User avatar
Boldpilot
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:33 am
Location: Wyndham Vale, Australia

Freezing rain and sleet

Post by Boldpilot » Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:57 pm

Thanks GS.

User avatar
Boldpilot
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:33 am
Location: Wyndham Vale, Australia

freezing rain and sleet

Post by Boldpilot » Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:21 am

Exactly as Tropicalfish says aircraft moves forward with brakes on ,wheels are not sliding though.
Tried landing a F28 maybe it did not have reverse thrust as it didn't stop. I wonder if a C17 will stop on that 10000 foot runway.

User avatar
Boldpilot
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:33 am
Location: Wyndham Vale, Australia

Freezing Rain and Sleet

Post by Boldpilot » Thu Oct 11, 2007 12:47 am

Hi Guys , Made it to the McMurdo runway in a C17 and stopped before the end .had to do a balancing act to keep the aircraft stationary with reverse thrust as it sure is icy and slippery .All good fun.boldpilot
Attachments
McMurdo approach.JPG

User avatar
Cat1
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 2100
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:50 am
Location: KFTW (Meacham Intl, Ft. Worth)

Re: Freezing Rain and Sleet

Post by Cat1 » Thu Oct 11, 2007 1:41 am

Boldpilot wrote: it sure is icy and slippery.
Now you are just pulling our collective legs, it's not like that at all according to Al Gore.

I wonder if sim exhaust counts toward global warming....
Image
If you want to learn how to fly IFR and land with ILS or have any questions about IFR/ILS. Click this link and the information is there: http://www.faa.gov/library/manuals/avia ... _handbook/

User avatar
Boldpilot
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:33 am
Location: Wyndham Vale, Australia

Freezing rain and Sleet

Post by Boldpilot » Thu Oct 11, 2007 2:03 am

Who is Al Gore.
The amount of sim flying I do around this world will surely increase it's temperature by at least 10 degrees . maybe soon no ice.Art

User avatar
rd
Forum Moderator - Master member
Forum Moderator - Master member
Posts: 6868
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: COMFORTABLY NUMB, in U.S.A. *** KOFF ***

Post by rd » Thu Oct 11, 2007 4:25 am

Al Gore is a puppet......a political one, that spends more to heat his house, than he gets back pushing Global Warming.

Now that the truth is out, that YOUR THE ONE creating Global Warming, I should punish you with his Global Warming video.

Believe me, when you see it, you would have wished for the firing squad.

RD
RD


"shhh.... I'm going undercover. "

User avatar
Boldpilot
SurClaro senior forum member
SurClaro senior forum member
Posts: 763
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:33 am
Location: Wyndham Vale, Australia

freezing rain and Sleet

Post by Boldpilot » Thu Oct 11, 2007 4:42 am

I could always fall back to the RAF motto "Per Adua Ad Astra" "**** you Jack I'm fireproof".

Flew a KC10 tanker from Christchurch to McMurdo today ,good landing on the runway [IFR] but mostly un-controllable trying to taxi, needed independent engine throttles
Attachments
Approaching McMurdo.JPG

Post Reply